Page 1 of 22 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: My First BMW – My First Swap – LS2/T56 into an E36

My Cars
    E36 - 1998 328iS - LS2

My First BMW – My First Swap – LS2/T56 into an E36

Before we jump in too far, let me preface this build thread by saying; I travel for a living and I split my non-traveling time between FL and NYC, so I'm away from my garage a lot. This will be a slow go. But I'm in no hurry. With that said:

I've always liked to turn wrenches. But building a career and living in apartments never gave me the time or wherewithal to have a proper project. About three years ago, I bought a small house on a canal on the west coast of FL. I finally have a garage (20' x 20' but it'll have to do). I'm tired of spending all of my time and money on home improvement so I decided to make a dumb financial decision and take on a swap project and put my garage to good use.

I've always been a GM guy and have been intrigued by the LS engines. After seeing JakeB's E36/LS3 swap, I decided to get off the sidelines an get to work. Bear in mind, I don't have 10% of the knowledge, experience and talent that JakeB and many of you have, but why let that stop me

So, the hunt began for an engine and a car. I found the engine before I found the car. It's a 2006 LS2/T56 out of a GTO with 71K miles. I got the pedals, full harness, PCM and MAF. LKQ was great to work with. The engine was in the NC yard and they had it shipped to their Crystal River, FL yard in just a few days (at no additional charge).

LKQ Cyrstal River

Back at home

The Donor Car

I knew I wanted a clean car...as clean as possible. It seems “clean” is a very subjective term. I looked at a few M3's in the $4K-$6K range that were represented as clean but to me, they looked like ass. It seemed that truly clean E36 M3's are still north of $10K.