Thread: Leaking Intake Gaskets

My Cars
    1994 BMW 750il

Leaking Intake Gaskets

I just got my car back from being checked out for a CEL that i have had for so long and could not figure it out, the mechanic said that the car has leaking intake gaskets and is running lean and i know that its a big job so hes not going to fix it. The car runs good it just has a CEL and is running lean. Is this a hard thing to do myself? i have a lot of experience with working on engines.

My Cars
    11/88 E32 750iL+98 E36M3
    it is not that complicated, it just takes time. Go to my website below, there is an excellent write up with plenty of pictures under
    fixes>>>engine general>>>>Top end overhaul (M70 TOPEND RECONDITION) by George Fontes, 14 MB, 68 pages

DIY and you will be satisfied with the performance of your car.
    Calculate with at least 1 day if you have never done it before, I now can do it in some hours. Prepare parts beforehand.

As George mentions: In my opinion, if one was just interested in replacing the valve cover gaskets & resealing the intake manifolds, the job could easily be done on a Saturday, but if more is planned such as drilling the oil-spray bar banjo bolts, safety wiring, repainting valve covers, replacing plugs, replacing hoses, rebuilding injectors, etc. one would be hard pressed to complete all these steps in a day.
    Shogun tricks and tips for the E32 series are HERE!

My Cars
    1994 BMW 750il
    ok doesnt seem too hard to do, should i replace the gaskets or reseal them? if replacing them where do you recommend i get the new ones from? i dont think the valve cover replacement is necessary they do not leak a lot unless you think i should do those as well while im at it

My Cars
    11/88 E32 750iL+98 E36M3
    new gaskets cost you close to $500. I have never used new gaskets at the intakes, use liquid seal and you are fine with that.