Thread: Rough starts in high-mileage M20B23 motors

My Cars
    79 323i, 94 325is, 13 M3

Rough starts in high-mileage M20B23 motors

Hi. I'm still new to auto repair and maintenance. I'm learning slowly from nice people on the internet, the same way I learned tube amplification.

I have an M20B23, one of the early ones that came with K-Jet. The K-Jet is gone now and a previous owner put on an intake manifold that I think came off a first-generation M20B20 with the Solex. Throttle came from that too, but I don't know where they got the fuel pump. The carb is a Weber 38/38.

Basic stuff like the wires, cap, rotor, distributor have been replaced but the iginition module looks original.

The trans is a 5 speed from an E30, and the transmission seal leaks a tiny bit, but otherwise, the car's in good nick. The motor seems to pull pretty hard, though I don't have much to compare it to and haven't dynoed it. The odo stopped at 160k due to the transmission swap so I don't know how many miles I have on the motor beyond that.

ANYWAY,

what kind of things cause an old motor like this to be a hard-starter from cold (10-20 seconds crank while I constantly flapper the throttle pedal), and then want to sputtter and die unless I keep the revs up to 1,500-1,800 for however many minutes it takes to get the whole unit up to normal op temp, or at least 75% of the way up to normal? Once I get it up there, it's fine.

My "cold choke" is a half-thickness masonry brick that I lean on the accelerator pedal for five minutes to warm up before setting off.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

Jamey

My Cars
    e21, e30 m3. e46 330ci
    Quote Originally Posted by JBasham View Post

My "cold choke" is a half-thickness masonry brick that I lean on the accelerator pedal for five minutes to warm up before setting off. Jamey
    well there you go, you need a proper choke, or learn how to use it properly.