Thread: DIY: Clutch master cylinder replacement and bleeding

My Cars
    1999 BMW 323i sport

DIY: Clutch master cylinder replacement and bleeding

Searched the forum, and didn't find a DIY on this topic, so decided to post it.
    This is my first time making pictures while working on my car, so the photos might not be of best quality.
    So, I noticed this on my floor mat:

took a closer look, and found the problem:

Replacing the cylinder and bleeding the clutch took me about 2 hours (was taking my time). I would rate the difficulty of this job 4 out of 10 (did it in the parking lot). As a guide used the Bentley manual.
    PART I: Clutch master cylinder replacement
    Tools and parts needed:
    Flat screw driver
    Phillips screw driver
    10 mm socket
    Syringe
    Flash light
    Some kind of container (plastic or glass- to catch the oil)
    New clutch master cylinder

1. Lift the car using either the ramps or jack stands

2. Disconnect the negative terminal of the battery, might not be necessary, but I always do while working on my car.
    3. Empty the brake fluid reservoir using the syringe:
    (I used a flat screw driver to pry out the net)

4. Remove the plastic guard under the steering wheel
    (I know, it could be done in one picture)

There are 2 clamps, I used the flat screw driver to release the pressure from the clamps

5. Master cylinder removing
    To detach pedal from cylinder we have to remove securing pin.
    In order to remove the securing pin, we'll have to remove a switch (1) first from our way (I guess it's a cruise control switch), the switch (1) is in a metal bracket, it pops out easily (pressed it with my fingers), sorry for the picture quality. Also removed the tensioner spring (2) ( not necessary, but made it easier for me to work)

Now, when the right side is clear ( where the switch is located) we can remove the pin 3 by pushing it from left to right (it won't go conversely)