Page 1 of 19 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Suspension options for lowering the E39 Touring

My Cars
    E63AMG/Z31/Tacoma/F31

Suspension options for lowering the E39 Touring

I am no expert on the various options available to lower the tourings but I figure it would be a great thread to have for a resource as I see so many questions about lowering the tourings. I know I had trouble finding info at first.

There seems to be 2 variants of suspensions on these cars. SLS (self leveling suspension) which uses a sensor and airbags to adjust the height for the given load on the car in the rear only. Then there is also the standard style with a spring and shock. The shock and spring are not combined into a single assembly either.

To lower the standard suspension car that has the spring/shock, you can either get lowering springs or coilovers. I know H&R makes the lowering springs and perhaps someone else could add to the list.

I also know that KW & ST make coilovers for our cars. It seems that ST is just a much cheaper version of the KW's.

Hopefully someone else can come along provide additional information about available options. I have read that you can get adjustable end links for the SLS cars and/or bend the sensor arm that is used to adjust he height in order to trick the car into lowering the rear.

My Cars
    02 540iT Sport, 96 993
    You beat me to the punch starting this thread!

I have a 2002 with sport package and SLS. I've definitely had a hard time figuring out my suspension options. Right now I'm riding on 11 year old 100k mile hardware, so it's wallowing a bit. I'm not as concerned with just lowering it as I am with tightening it up in general. I'd love to make it a little sportier than it came from the factory. Would love to hear about what others have done.