Thread: Whistling noise from the engine

My Cars
    2004 BMW 325i sedan

Whistling noise from the engine

Hello Forum,

This is my first time posting, so apologies if I leave any vital information out. I have an '04 325i sedan. Recently I have been hearing a whistling noise from the engine. It's especially apparent when I step on the gas from a stop. the higher I rev it the louder the whistling.

Anyone ever encountered this? I don't want something small to turn into something major because I failed to get it checked out; any shops you guys would recommend in the Bay Area?

Thanks!

My Cars
    2018 BMW M240i
    First thing I would check for is a tear in your intake boots. Even a small crack can make a whisling sound. Other than that, I really don't know enough to confidently troubleshoot anything. I'm sure someone else will chime in.

Bump for the new guy.
    CURRENT:
    18' F22 M240i | 6MT | MGM/CR

02' E46 325i | 5MT | SBM/B (200k+)

SOLD:
    10' E82 135i | 6MT | BSM/CR
    03' E46 330ci | 5MT | JB/B

My Cars
    2004 BMW 325i sedan
    Thanks! I appreciate it!

My Cars
    e36 i e30 ix e46 xit
    If you can, post a video of the whistle sound so we can better diagnos.

My Cars
    2004 ZHP 6MT
    Try to isolate the sound within the engine bay. I'm leaning toward pulleys/belts since you don't have an SES light.

The higher you rev, the louder it gets. Makes sense.

So...in short....inspect your pullies.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jJgZgCJhvQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player[/ame]

Sent from my Thunderbolt using BF.com
    Last edited by danewilson77; 09-19-2012 at 08:21 AM.

by Dane Wilson, on Flickr

My Cars
    I'm gonna say pulleys too. They can change their noise under different circumstances. This is a pretty simple fix. Easier of you have a manual but still easy if you have an auto.

My Cars
    03 325i, 02 Jetta
    +1 on pulleys

My Cars
    2005 BMW 325xi 5spd.