Page 1 of 23 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: NOTORIOUS VR's E36 328is turbo build

My Cars
    E36 Turbo

NOTORIOUS VR's E36 328is turbo build

So I think it's about time I gather my thoughts in one place, where I can share updates and pictures as I go along with this build.

I bought this E36 to replace my recently stolen B5 S4 that I had been building for about 3 years (big turbo's etc). It was recovered by the police but was found damaged to the point where the chassis had taken a hard hit (door wouldn't close properly anymore, subframe bar/connector kinked) and the car was a write off.

My S4 before it was taken from me:

I couldn't stomach the fact to rebuild it after what it had been through and getting another S4 and hoping it would have been as clean as mine just wasn't going to cut it. So I decided to move on to a different platform and here I am.

I picked up a decently clean 1999 328is, in titanium silver the body was straight and clean, it was in a minor incident in the front end but that didn't matter much to me as it was all replaceable body parts anyway. Plus I picked up the car for a good price and it was solid/tight otherwise. Has basically brand new H&R cup kit installed which is getting swapped out for coils and an M3 exhaust system.

Anyway, I've been stock piling parts ever since getting it, nothing as been installed except for the cluster that's why no pics at this time.

In the body/looks department:
    • Full OE M-bumpers front/rear, M side skirts.
    • M cluster
    • ZHP backlight shift knob
    • DEPO glass e-codes + 55w HID kit
    • DEPO clear corners and fender turn signals
    • Red/clear tails
    • BC Coilovers w/ camber plates
    • Bayern Bavaria in 18x8.5/9.5 wheels in silver (planned 235/40 and 255/35 or 265/35)

Test fit of the rear wheels:

Now for the go fast parts... I bought the turbo kit used from a member on here switlikbob, basic components really (mani, mounts, turbo, dp, WG/BOV, FP + catch can).

• SPA T4 manifold