Bavarian Soundwerks

Thread: E36 M3 Speakers sound like crap

My Cars
    2002 BMW 745Li

E36 M3 Speakers sound like crap

Noob here but I'm completely stumped. I just installed a new head unit-Sony BT 3000p. When I turn the head unit on the stock speakers sound horrible. Im not sure if Im missing something with the stock amp not being powered on, or if the power from the head unit is not reaching the speakers?

My Cars
    00 750IL, 01 740IL
    hahahahha E36 M3 does sound like crap....

My Cars
    1998 M3 Coupe
    Its because the higher wattage from your new deck is being amplified by your amp. The stock deck has no where near the same power output.

In order to get any kind of good audio from the E36 you need to bypass the stock amp and at the very least match the impeadance of the OE speakers, but it's probably better to replace them completely.
    -'98 M3 Coupe
    -'03 M3 Coupe
    -'83 911 Coupe
    -'05 911 Coupe

My Cars
    1997 M3 2dr.
    I went through my stock amp with my x794 and it went fine...

My Cars
    M3, M3, 323is
    Question for you. Does you M3 have the HK system upgrade? Or is it just the normal amped one that comes with the M3?? If you have the HK system go buy this harness with the RCA's on it. Made by Metra 70-8591 This will help with your problem.

My Cars
    2015 435i M Sport
    Hmmm... do you have the wire for the AMP turn on wired up right?
    If the receiver signal isn't being sent to the amp, your sound will be pretty bad.
    BMW CCA Member 186373 - Golden Gate Chapter
    Former (e)Bombe Magazine Editor, "The Toy Box" product review writer | Current member of Team Jesus

Gone: 1995 E36 M3 Arctik Silber, 1996 E36 M3 Cosmos, 1991 E30 318is Cosmos

My Cars
    2002 BMW 745Li

Bypassing Stock Amp

Quote Originally Posted by merlinfe View Post
    Its because the higher wattage from your new deck is being amplified by your amp. The stock deck has no where near the same power output.