Thread: Aftermarket brake calipers without dust seals

My Cars
    Electric Breadvan

Aftermarket brake calipers without dust seals

Just out of curiousity, if a brake caliper lacks dirt seals, what is the net effect of running them on the street. I understand that road grit gets into things to some degree, and must wear some part away, but what specifically would wear out quickly, require rebuilding, etc?
    PSOT

My Cars
    Rogue 3 TTs2.5 / Rubicon
    depending on the type of caliper, I would keep an eye on the pistons and guides (if so equipped).

if I recall correctly, no street caliper should be without dust seals unless you're a nut job for rebuilding and inspecting calipers every other week.

-Ron

Hey man, I'm a professional!

My Cars
    2015 Tacoma, '86 951
    Indeed, the brake fluid would become very contaminated, the pistons would probably be very scored, etc. I don't think thats a smart idea. You may as well let your children play with loaded pistols (okay not that bad, but you know).
    Retired Track E36
    Jet Black 2012 328i

My Cars
    98 MZ3, 01 325iT
    The sky is falling, the sky is falling!.........

Seals are a good idea. But your brakes are unlikely to destroy themselves. Lots of peolpe are running racing brakes (no seals) every day. Race cars use them in the harshest environments.

I'm not saying you won't run into problems, but with care and inspection when changing pads, you should be just fine.
    George Roffe
    98 M Roadster
    01 325iT

My Cars
    00xp race ski, 08 750il
    willwood for the most part dont have seals and ive seen a hell of alot of them fine on the street. when changing your pads you can check it out and to rebuild them its very easy just pop a new piston in
    Cars sold now
    #150 WC emra
    andrew vovou

My Cars
    Yugo
    I don't think anyone has properly addressed the street vs track issues here: