Page 14 of 42 FirstFirst ... 45678910111213141516171819202122232439 ... LastLast
Results 326 to 350 of 1034

Thread: Diagnostic program with realtime graph view

  1. #326
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,688
    My Cars
    2005 M3 & 2004 330i
    Quote Originally Posted by pheno View Post
    Nice to hear.. Hey, I'm gonna demand a screenshot ;-) Does only CSL code utilize that pressure and normal MSS54 not ?

    I wonder if the serial code/controller is done 'bare metal' in the ECU or would it be possible to just modify code to change 9600 into 19200 baud rate. But then maybe the CPU couldn't take the added "load".
    Right, only the CSL has that sensor at all, so only the CSL utilizes manifold pressure. Rest of the MSS54s use airmass (CSL has that giant 8 inch intake opening, so a MAF wasn't practical). Good question on the code. I *think* it may be possible to access it at a faster rate, simply because other modules seem to.

    I'll get some screenshots for you soon. Right now the graphs I have are pretty messy - I forgot how rapidly manifold pressure and cylinder filling can change with just minor throttle variations

  2. #327
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,688
    My Cars
    2005 M3 & 2004 330i
    Some data I took the other day. I still need to do some actual partial throttle logging since it seems that's where the value of the map sensor is

    Last edited by TerraPhantm; 08-09-2014 at 01:45 AM.

  3. #328
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland, Europe
    Posts
    540
    My Cars
    E61 520d LCI
    Quote Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
    Some data I took the other day. I still need to do some actual partial throttle logging since it seems that's where the value of the map sensor is
    Thanks, that looks interesting.
    E61 520d LCI

    Check out TestO - free datalogger for BMW. Includes support for: AEM, PLX, 14point7, Innovate (through SDK)

  4. #329
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,309
    My Cars
    325iT, 540iT
    Hey pheno, pls clear your PM box

  5. #330
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland, Europe
    Posts
    540
    My Cars
    E61 520d LCI
    Quote Originally Posted by blarf View Post
    Hey pheno, pls clear your PM box
    Ok, cleared some old messages

    I've added possibility to log Innovate sensors - serial versions. Anybody up for testing ? Send PM.

    mtssdk.PNG
    Last edited by pheno; 08-28-2014 at 03:19 PM.
    E61 520d LCI

    Check out TestO - free datalogger for BMW. Includes support for: AEM, PLX, 14point7, Innovate (through SDK)

  6. #331
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    71
    My Cars
    2002 325Ci
    hello guys,

    and chance of giving me advice to log several sensors at the same time and having them timre correlated? what exact buttons do i need to press to have them accurately aligned? right now they start at different values and its totally messed within megalogviewer, e.g. trottle opens before pedal value sensor goes up.

    thanks for helping me out.

  7. #332
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland, Europe
    Posts
    540
    My Cars
    E61 520d LCI
    Quote Originally Posted by Leinad78 View Post
    hello guys,

    and chance of giving me advice to log several sensors at the same time and having them timre correlated? what exact buttons do i need to press to have them accurately aligned? right now they start at different values and its totally messed within megalogviewer, e.g. trottle opens before pedal value sensor goes up.

    thanks for helping me out.
    What ecu does your car have ? MS43 ? if so I suggest using 'MS43 (Serial)' because it is faster. Basically you should be doing this:

    1. Start jobs you wish
    2. On the plotting window: Right click-> select all (or tick what values you want to log)
    3. Open File Logger (Press F1 or File->File Logger). Check what values will be saved from the right side of the dialog
    4. Choose 'Time from start' or 'Actual Time' as time format
    5. Press start
    6. Press stop when done.

    .csv file will be created with timestamp and Megalogviewer should be able to open this without problems.
    Last edited by pheno; 09-02-2014 at 02:52 AM.
    E61 520d LCI

    Check out TestO - free datalogger for BMW. Includes support for: AEM, PLX, 14point7, Innovate (through SDK)

  8. #333
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland, Europe
    Posts
    540
    My Cars
    E61 520d LCI
    Updated version available.

    Now it's possible to log Innovate sensors too. THis has been tested with LC-1 and LMA-5. Also serial jobs added for M44 DME 5.2. Big thanks for testing those two goes to: nuvola rossa. Thanks.
    E61 520d LCI

    Check out TestO - free datalogger for BMW. Includes support for: AEM, PLX, 14point7, Innovate (through SDK)

  9. #334
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    32
    My Cars
    e39 touring 523 10/97
    Hey can some one help a little bit.
    I am tring to get some logs from my ms41.0 532i eu. I use a inpa dcan cable and I pic the ms41.0 für m52 flash but there only small info menu there.where can I find over maf sensor data and so on? Not just.. the read fault codes ect.
    And can It be right that the ds3 is not pressent knd the gauges menu. Do I miss some updates. Or is the just not done enny work for my dme.
    Best regards
    Last edited by e39touring1980; 10-04-2014 at 03:08 AM. Reason: tlf delete some parts

  10. #335
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    7
    My Cars
    323ti
    Hi Pheno,

    i tried to add a serial job for MS43 for reading LMM voltage, but it did not work; I can select the job but the result window is empty.

    first i run a trace where I found the job:

    '04.10.2014 17:28:42 <jobstart>'STATUS_LMM_SPANNUNG','_STD [ 7005] SENDECUTEL
    _STD [ 7005] INPUT: 12 09 0B 02 0E 00 00 06
    _STD [ 7005] I -> D: 14 06 00 FF FF 00
    _STD [ 7005] D -> I: 01 03 00
    _STD [ 7005] I -> D: 13 04 00 01
    _STD [ 7005] D -> I: 01 04 00 00
    _STD [ 7005] I -> D: 06 0B 00 12 09 0B 02 0E 00 00 06
    _STD [ 7083] D -> I: 01 09 00 12 06 A0 00 07 B3
    _STD [ 7083] I -> D: 13 04 00 01
    _STD [ 7083] D -> I: 01 04 00 00
    _STD [ 7083] ERROR: NO ERROR
    _STD [ 7083] OUTPUT: 12 06 A0 00 07 B3 '
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'OBJECT','ms430ds0','text'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'SAETZE','1','word'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'JOBNAME','STATUS_LMM_SPANNUNG','text'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'VARIANTE','MS430DS0','text'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'JOBSTATUS','','text'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'UBATTCURRENT','1','integer'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'UBATTHISTORY','1','integer'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'IGNITIONCURRENT','1','integer'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'IGNITIONHISTORY','1','integer'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'JOB_STATUS','OKAY','text'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'STAT_LMM_SPANNUNG_EINH','V','text'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 'STAT_LMM_SPANNUNG_WERT','3.417960E-002','real'
    04.10.2014 17:28:42 <jobend>

    than i add to MS430DS0_SERIAL.BIV the following entry:

    JOBNAME:STATUS_LMM_SPANNUNG
    JOBCOMMENT:Spannung Luftmassenmesser
    RESULT:JOB_STATUS
    TELEGRAM:12090B020E000006

    any idea what I did wrong ?

  11. #336
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    32
    My Cars
    e39 touring 523 10/97
    Can I use the serial ms41ds3 with inpa dcan cable. ? Not a singel one using testo on ms41.0 that can help me.

  12. #337
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    32
    My Cars
    e39 touring 523 10/97
    Hallo.
    I fund the error. And why the program not worked for me.
    The Ini.file was empty. Then I replaced it and it got the stat/xxxxxx/start. Now all works.geat job pheno. This is a very good tool.
    Best regards

  13. #338
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland, Europe
    Posts
    540
    My Cars
    E61 520d LCI
    Quote Originally Posted by e39touring1980 View Post
    Hallo.
    I fund the error. And why the program not worked for me.
    The Ini.file was empty. Then I replaced it and it got the stat/xxxxxx/start. Now all works.geat job pheno. This is a very good tool.
    Best regards
    Thanks. Nice to hear it is working fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by lf29695 View Post
    Hi Pheno,

    i tried to add a serial job for MS43 for reading LMM voltage, but it did not work; I can select the job but the result window is empty.
    than i add to MS430DS0_SERIAL.BIV the following entry:

    JOBNAME:STATUS_LMM_SPANNUNG
    JOBCOMMENT:Spannung Luftmassenmesser
    RESULT:JOB_STATUS
    TELEGRAM:12090B020E000006

    any idea what I did wrong ?
    Actually you can not add new data points by yourself. I have to add a new entry in the program for that.

    Made this for you and uploaded a new version of Test-O and added MAF voltage into MS43 Serial ECU. Let me know if it does not work. Thanks.

    Also added a donate menu :-)
    E61 520d LCI

    Check out TestO - free datalogger for BMW. Includes support for: AEM, PLX, 14point7, Innovate (through SDK)

  14. #339
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    7
    My Cars
    323ti
    Thanks for adding that !

    Wanted to test it today, but with the new verstion of Testo I get the error message "Der Prozedureinsprunpunkt ___apiCheckVersionq" not found in API32.dll.
    Any Idea about that ?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #340
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland, Europe
    Posts
    540
    My Cars
    E61 520d LCI
    Ah.. It's probably because I've linked my program to newer Ediabas API .lib that you have.

    In the meantime you can download the .dll it's expecting from here http://phenoboy.kapsi.fi/testo/api32.dll and copy it into testo folder where the testo.exe is
    E61 520d LCI

    Check out TestO - free datalogger for BMW. Includes support for: AEM, PLX, 14point7, Innovate (through SDK)

  16. #341
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    7
    My Cars
    323ti
    ok... now it works !
    I can confirm that mav voltage serial job works with ms43 incl. file logger !
    Thank you very much !




    - - - Updated - - -

    ok... now it works !
    I can confirm that mav voltage serial job works with ms43 incl. file logger !
    Thank you very much !


    Attached Images Attached Images

  17. #342
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    7
    My Cars
    323ti
    ok.... thanks it is working now.
    I can confirm that the serial job for maf voltage is working (inc. file logger)
    thank you very much !

  18. #343
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    612
    My Cars
    E36 M3 / 2.0T WRX
    Hey pheno, I've got a question for you on how to decipher a serial output. Let's take the following job as an example.

    MS410DS1.BIV
    Code:
    JOBNAME:STATUS_LS_VKAT_SIGNAL_1
    JOBCOMMENT:Spannug Lambdasonde vor KAT auslesen
    RESULT:JOB_STATUS
    RESULTTYPE:string
    RESULTCOMMENT:
    RESULT:STAT_LS_VKAT_SIGNAL_1_WERT
    RESULTTYPE:real
    RESULTCOMMENT:Spannungswert L-Sonde vor KAT
    RESULT:STAT_LS_VKAT_SIGNAL_1_EINH
    RESULTTYPE:string
    RESULTCOMMENT:Einheit Volt

    and its corresponding MS410DS1 trace file output by Testo. Testo uses the BMW EDIABAS protocol to call this job by its name then sniffs the serial port to generate the following output. It then knows what was sent and what was received.
    Code:
    12.01.2013 20:39:12 <jobstart>'STATUS_LS_VKAT_SIGNAL_1','_STD     [     15859] SENDECUTEL
    _STD     [     15859]  INPUT: 12 09 0B 02 0E 00 00 01 
    _STD     [     15859]   I -> D: 14 06 00 FF FF 00 
    _STD     [     15859]   D -> I: 01 03 00 
    _STD     [     15859]   I -> D: 13 04 00 01 
    _STD     [     15859]   D -> I: 01 04 00 00 
    _STD     [     15859]   I -> D: 06 0B 00 12 09 0B 02 0E 00 00 01 
    _STD     [     15937]   D -> I: 01 09 00 12 06 A0 00 FA 4E 
    _STD     [     15937]   I -> D: 13 04 00 01 
    _STD     [     15937]   D -> I: 01 04 00 00 
    _STD     [     15937]  ERROR: NO ERROR
    _STD     [     15937]  OUTPUT: 12 06 A0 00 FA 4E'
    12.01.2013 20:39:12 'JOB_STATUS','OKAY','text'
    12.01.2013 20:39:12 'STAT_LS_VKAT_SIGNAL_1_EINH','V','text'
    12.01.2013 20:39:12 'STAT_LS_VKAT_SIGNAL_1_WERT','4.825000E+000','real'
    12.01.2013 20:39:12 <jobend>

    so we INPUT "12 09 0B 02 0E 00 00 01"
    get OUTPUT "12 06 A0 00 FA 4E"


    How does Testo know the OUTPUT in human readable format is 4.825volts? It some somehow is able to convert the OUTPUT into 4.825volts. In the OUTPUT we know "12" is the ECU address. "06" is the number of bytes in this OUTPUT. "A0" means 'acknowledged' or 'okay'. We know the OUTPUT is in 'real' which means 2 bytes, right? So is it converting "00 FA" into "4.825volts"? Is the last byte "4E" a checksum like it is for the INPUT?

    If so, how do you find the conversion factor (multiply A and sum B) to convert "00 FA" into "4.825volts"?

  19. #344
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,309
    My Cars
    325iT, 540iT
    If I had to guess, I'd say that testo is using EDIABAS to decode the reply packets. The definitions are the various object files in your EDIABAS install. For newer ECUs (MS43+) you can find tables that list the various coefficients needed to calculate the actual value and get at them with Tool32. With older ECUs (and things that aren't the DME) this isn't usually the case.

    I've taken to feeding bogus input to EDIABAS over an emulated serial port to get at the coefficients and locations within the data packet. As floating point values in this application are typically linear equations if you give EDIABS a value of 0 you'll get the intercept, and a value of 1 will give you the slope. An alternative is to "decode" the PRG files (the data is all XOR'd), and run it through the strings utility. This will show you the coefficients without rounding them. Lastly, there's a reverse engineered EDIABAS interpreter (written in .NET) floating around out there that you could probably use to dump the various tables in an easier manner.

    In this case the intercept is 0, and the slope is 0.0193. Note that while there are some coefficients in the MS41.1 PRG file for voltages (including oxygen sensor voltage), what you see in something like Tool32 won't match up with what you see when you run the EDIABAS job because of rounding errors. In the case of the oxygen sensor voltage you'll see a coefficient of 0.02, which would lose a lot of precision. The other thing to watch out for is that not all floating point values are 16 bit values, IIRC some are 8 bit.
    Last edited by blarf; 10-11-2014 at 03:58 AM.

  20. #345
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    612
    My Cars
    E36 M3 / 2.0T WRX
    Quote Originally Posted by blarf View Post
    If I had to guess, I'd say that testo is using EDIABAS to decode the reply packets. The definitions are the various object files in your EDIABAS install. For newer ECUs (MS43+) you can find tables that list the various coefficients needed to calculate the actual value and get at them with Tool32. With older ECUs this isn't the case. I've taken to feeding bogus input to EDIABAS over an emulated serial port to get at it, as these are typically linear equations if you give EDIABS a value of 0 you'll get the intercept, and a value of 1 will give you the slope.

    In this case the intercept is 0, and the slope is 0.0193. Note that while there are some coefficients in the MS41.1 PRG file for voltages (including oxygen sensor voltage), they don't match up with what EDIABAS is doing. The other thing to watch out for is that not all floating point values are 16 bit values, some are 8 bit.
    Wow, this is really good info! Would you please join us at : http://www.romraider.com/forum/viewt...p?f=42&t=11086
    In this case the intercept is 0, and the slope is 0.0193.
    How did you calculate mx+b in this case?
    Last edited by mrf; 10-10-2014 at 11:28 PM.

  21. #346
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,309
    My Cars
    325iT, 540iT
    Quote Originally Posted by mrf View Post
    How did you calculate mx+b in this case?
    I gave EDIABAS a zero value (0x0000), got the intercept (b). Then I gave EDIABAS a value of one (0x0001) and saw the result which was the slope (m). This technique is most useful if you can't find the coefficients or position within the reply in a table. If you can find the coefficients and location information in the PRG file itself as strings this is generally less tedious -- however if you use Tool32 the values /may/ be rounded to the point of uselessness. In that case you'd need to decode the PRG file (either with BMW's EDIABAS or a third party version, or XOR the data section of the PRG file and parse by hand).

  22. #347
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    612
    My Cars
    E36 M3 / 2.0T WRX
    Quote Originally Posted by blarf View Post
    I gave EDIABAS a zero value (0x0000), got the intercept (b). Then I gave EDIABAS a value of one (0x0001) and saw the result which was the slope (m). This technique is most useful if you can't find the coefficients or position within the reply in a table. If you can find the coefficients and location information in the PRG file itself as strings this is generally less tedious -- however if you use Tool32 the values /may/ be rounded to the point of uselessness. In that case you'd need to decode the PRG file (either with BMW's EDIABAS or a third party version, or XOR the data section of the PRG file and parse by hand).
    Ingenious!

    Can you show us how to feed EBIABAS 'bogus input' over an emulated serial port?

  23. #348
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,309
    My Cars
    325iT, 540iT
    Quote Originally Posted by mrf View Post
    Ingenious!

    Can you show us how to feed EBIABAS 'bogus input' over an emulated serial port?
    VMWare (and presumably VirtualBox) allows an instance to connect to an AF_LOCAL/AF_UNIX socket and emulate serial communications that way. I just use a small ruby script to connect to the socket and send replies based on the inputted packets. I think this is getting a bit off-topic for this thread -- but if you look at the thread I've started in this forum you can find links to the DS2 library I wrote (the code should serve as an example of how you'd decode the various data types) and the various ECU definition files.

  24. #349
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland, Europe
    Posts
    540
    My Cars
    E61 520d LCI
    Guys, by all means please continue :-)

    There's two ways to read data from ecu in Testo. Using EDIABAS Api or plain serial port ecu definitions. Testo is linked into EDIABAS libs so you'll need working Ediabas installation. I could make it separate but haven't bothered to do that.

    In Windows you can use com2com virtual serial port to do same blarf mentioned in emulating input/output. Just modify obd.ini in EDIABAS to virtual com port you have specified.

    mrf - what are you actually trying to achieve ?
    E61 520d LCI

    Check out TestO - free datalogger for BMW. Includes support for: AEM, PLX, 14point7, Innovate (through SDK)

  25. #350
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1,309
    My Cars
    325iT, 540iT
    Quote Originally Posted by pheno View Post
    There's two ways to read data from ecu in Testo. Using EDIABAS Api or plain serial port ecu definitions.
    For the raw serial port stuff, are you decoding the results with EDIABAS or decoding the results within Testo?

    Quote Originally Posted by pheno View Post
    mrf - what are you actually trying to achieve ?
    Looks like he's trying to get the RomRaider logger working with BMWs.

Page 14 of 42 FirstFirst ... 45678910111213141516171819202122232439 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •