Thread: DIY: ZHP Black Cube Interior Repair

My Cars
    07.328cic & 13.x1M

DIY: ZHP Black Cube Interior Repair

Recently picked up a 2006 330cic zhp. The door pulls/armrests were all scratched up.

We can't have that, now can we? I am a professional car painter by trade, so issues with painted items drive me crazy.

So here is how to easily repair it. I'm going to deal specifically with the armrests/door pulls, but the painting process would be the same for any other piece of black cube trim.

Start by removing your door panel and then unscrew the armrest (or remove whatever piece of trim needs repair). It's held on by 6 Torx screws, the same size as the ones you have to remove on the doorcard. There are plenty of write-ups on how to remove the door panels or trim pieces so I won't go into that here.

Once you have the armrest out give it a good rub down with isopropryl rubbing alcohol and a final wipe with a clean cloth (lint free is your friend).

Now that it's clean, tape off the armrest pad and the lower color portion. I highly suggest using 3M green tape, not blue, not beige. It will not hurt your interior, will not leave residue and will not allow bleeding. A tip on the armrest pad is to place the tape about 1/4 -1/2 inch over the edge, then tuck it in with a thin, non-marring tool. Or you can carefully pull up the armrest pad edge ever so slightly and push the tape under by hand. Just make sure everything is taped off properly. Also, make sure to press down on all the edges with your fingernail or plastic tool to be sure the paint doesn't bleed under the tape onto your colored interior lower section.