Thread: E46 5th gear automatic transmission trouble

My Cars
    325ci

E46 5th gear automatic transmission trouble

I’m a new member to this web forum though I have been referring to it for a couple of years for DIY fixes.* *I have a 2004 E46 325ci Convertible and am currently having trouble with my automatic transmission.

I have the transmission slip when putting the car in drive after the car has sat a while although this has been better as of late.* I have read about this problem in some of this website’s threads and it isn’t my main concern. **I added this in case my other problem is related…

*Just recently my car has been having problems while in 5th gear.* Here are the symptoms:

1)***** If I am going over 90km/hour and hit the gas light to moderately the rpms go up very briefly and then go down to about 2200rpm and the acceleration is very slow!* If I press the gas pedal harder the car downshifts to 4th and acts as it should.
    2)***** However, if I am going less than 90km/hour and in 5th gear and press on the gas the rpms go up to about 2800 and the car accelerates properly.
    3)***** And, if I am steadily accelerating through 4th and into 5th the car upshifts properly and performs as expected.*

There are no lights on the dash indicating any problems. *I did have the transmission fluid changed about eight months ago but this problem has surfaced much more recently than that.* The fluid change did not impact the slip I described earlier when putting the car in drive.

I am going to take it in the shop and get the codes read soon but I want to know if anyone has had a similar issue and what their solution was so I can better prepare myself.* Or even better, if there is a reasonable DIY fix I can try.

Thanks in advance
    Last edited by rspatrick; 12-12-2011 at 08:32 PM. Reason: Fixed mistyping.

My Cars
    98m395m30032394318ic
    MMm... sorry for your woes mate.