Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: My E39 Pixel Repair

My Cars
    '00 540i, '89 Iroc

My E39 Pixel Repair

Good afternoon everyone, I'm pleased to finally have my Pixel Repair completed and now with enough pictures that I think I can safely guide those of you who were slightly nervous about doing this repair. Initially I was very disappointed because I thought I had royally botched the job, but it turned out that I had inadvertently burnt out a couple bulbs so the LCD did not light up like it should have.

So, buy your kit from eBay, doesn't matter which one, just don't get the one with the absolutely unnecessary soldering iron tip. You'll notice I did not use a soldering iron at any time for this. And there is a reason for that. I use a soldering iron daily/weekly at work, I've been soldering for 23 years (For those that remember the how old are you thread, yes I am only 30, but I worked at the family business since I was 7 soldering, fixing circuitry, etc.) and guess what, this repair DOES NOT NEED ONE. Good idea those eBay sellers had trying to sell unnecessary stuff to us BMW owners since our pockets are so deep. Right?

Anyway, without further adieu!

Step 1: Remove Gauge cluster. Sorry I have no pics of this procedure, I will add them later because I ordered a Gauge Ring set from DDM tuning so the cluster has to come ont one last time. A word of the best advice I can give you right here. Plug the headlight switch, the dimmer and the fog light switch back in after you have the cluster out. Or you'll be coming back outside to a dead battery when you're done with the repair as the lights go on when you unplug the headlight switch. OR you could disconnect the battery.