Thread: Anyone have much experience with buying an e36 with an m3 conversion?

My Cars
    2004 330Ci

Anyone have much experience with buying an e36 with an m3 conversion?

I am looking at a '97 that has been converted to an m3 that is for sale. I am fairly new to bimmerforums. I have an 87 e30 sedan and have learned some of the typical bmw issues pretty quickly. Besides the s52 swap that was proffessionally done, the car has a lot of mods.

What are some things I need to be on the lookout for?

I realize I am stepping into a car that has had a lot of aftermarket work done but what are some key things to keep an eye on.

Would anyone here purchase one that had been converted?

I have not yet been able to find anybody on here that like the conversions. I tried the search.

My Cars
    -02 530i
    The M3 chassis had some extra structural bracing to cope with the increased power and being driven harder.

Check under the car where the rear subframe mounts to the body, the rear suspension trailing arm mounts and the shock towers. These are points where the sheetmetal rips more easily if the car is driven hard.

The M3 front suspension shares almost nothing with the non-M3 even though it looks the same. You might want to inquire exactly what was replaced.
    Last edited by granlund; 07-22-2011 at 05:59 PM.

My Cars
    '95 OBD1 332is
    My '95 325is also had an S52 swap done, and it's been pretty reliable, but I'm amazed at that. I got into an accident a few months ago, and while repairing the damage my mechanic came across some frightening mistakes done by the guy that did the engine swap. For example, all the motor mount bolts were either broken or missing, the steering rack wasn't bolted in, the crappy Getrag 5 speed was used rather than the ZF, and I'm still chasing a small vacuum leak.