Thread: ABS, Brake and traction control lights come on....sometimes

My Cars
    04 E55 AMG

ABS, Brake and traction control lights come on....sometimes

Once in a while they come on when I first start the car in the morning. Sometimes it goes a few weeks without coming on. Usually it's only the first time I drive the car, then I get back in and start it up...and all the lights stay off.

Does this mean something in my ABS is going bad? Is there a way to make it last a bit longer?
    2006 F650GS Remus Exhaust

My Cars
    E30S50, E46, E39 M5
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon540i View Post
    Does this mean something in my ABS is going bad? Is there a way to make it last a bit longer?
    1. It's probably an intermittent issue with a wheel speed sensor. Either a bad sensor or a broken wire somewhere. All of those systems use the wheel speed sensors.

2. If you want it to last "a bit longer" fix it. No way I know of to identify the broken sensor, but I'm new to E46 land.

E46 328Ci
    Carbon Fiber Everything | BBS LM Reps | Koni FSD Eibach Pro Kit | CSL Replica Bumper & Trunklid | Haters Gonna Hate
    Frankenmotor S50 swapped E30 325is.
    Billy Sports | Eibach Pro Springs | IE 22/19 Sway kit | Supersprint Headers | Stealth Straightpipes | Ported Head | 3-Angle Valve Grind | Conforti

My Cars
    e30/36/46 325/M3/330
    think the only way to identify is to hit it with a scan tool, it'll tell you what wheel's triggering the error

Quote Originally Posted by dallasfan824
    TC does not want ghey hookers you silly.

My Cars
    04 E55 AMG
    So it's not an ABS control module that needs to be sprayed/cleaned with that electric component cleaner product?

My Cars
    2005 M3 & 2004 330i