Page 24 of 24 FirstFirst ... 1415161718192021222324
Results 576 to 596 of 596

Thread: (Almost) free DIY ADS interface

  1. #576
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,303
    My Cars
    1995 BMW 328
    It's a good effort dude but for me Post 508 with coloured legs and values on looks simpler.

    Next installment a bench flasher and bench diagnostics board for those that want to diagnose and flash indoors
    No warranty of any kind implied or given and no liability for any loss, damage or injury, no matter how incurred accepted.

  2. #577
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    25
    My Cars
    1993 BMW 325i
    Hi,


    First, thank you to the original poster and all the members involved in the development of new circuits and troubleshooting.


    While I did read the entire thread, it's been really hard to draw conclusions on how to proceed with my car ('93 Euro 325i | M50B25TU | DME 3.3.1). This being said, please help me clearing these doubts:


    1. It is my understanding that the circuit from the opening post has a high success rate. I see however that pin 17 is referenced on the schematic but my car's 20-pin round connector doesn't have such pin. Using pin 20 is enough?


    2. The correct interface for my case is ADS. For that I must install INPA V3 with that parameter in mind and then moify an INI file. Is this statement enough softwarewise?

    Thank you.

  3. #578
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    91
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325i
    1. Yes.. pin 20 is definitely enough

    2. I dont know why people are messing around with INI files, all i did to make it work was:

    a- execute instprog.exe
    b- Installed with rectification program UK and selected ADS (not OBD), and installed just EDIABAS and INPA
    c- Set the environment variable PATH: addes C:\EDIABAS\BIN
    d- restarted laptop
    e- Executed ADSSETUP.exe and restarted again

    This is just for verficiation, but if you select "ADS" at step b, then it will show this:


    - EDIABAS.INI shows: "Interface = ADS"

    It seems some people install with OBD and then edit the ini file so they also have OBD support in their installation.

    Also, everybody seems to call it INPA V3, but its INPA 4.4.7... This is, i think, because the INPA.ini file shows that. But the setup program has its own ini file with version 4.4.7 in it.
    Im pretty sure that BMW just forgot to update the INPA.ini file and just updated the installation ini file when releasing a n

  4. #579
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,303
    My Cars
    1995 BMW 328
    ^ A lot of people start with OBD because they install and use a 16pin KKL / VAGCOM / OBDII with 20 pin adapter and then switch to ADS when something ADS breaks
    No warranty of any kind implied or given and no liability for any loss, damage or injury, no matter how incurred accepted.

  5. #580
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    91
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325i
    Hi Guys,

    I got around to experimenting with INPA also because i got a new battery for it.

    I found some problems:

    - I dont have the engine roughness or #analog values with engine roughness in the INPA interface (engine->read status->..nothing. Could it be that its not in the mistreku/FAL mod or is the INPA version to low (4.4.7) or not compatible with my car?

    - With the engine off the engine analog values are fast(ok enough), with the engine on i get a lot of timeouts, a lot of the time i dont get the value, i press 'continu script processing->yes' and it gets a 0 and tries the next one. It seems that this gets worse when i rev higher but i could be wrong. Could it be interference from the engine? Sounds like a strange explanation. Anyway, the instrument cluster status reads fine with a running engine. Otherwise maybe change the baud rate? This would not explain why its faster with engine off. It seems to especially be slow on the adaptation values+engine running.

  6. #581
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    25
    My Cars
    1993 BMW 325i
    Hello everyone,


    I successfully built the almost free ADS interface and installed INPA V5.0.2 on a Windows XP with a real serial port. My car has a DME 3.3.1 and INPA couldn't connect to it since it was expecting DM331K20 but the detected control unit is DME331. I searched a bit and found a DME331.prg file; I copied it to EDIABAS\ECU folder but still, INPA expects to see DM331K20. At least I'm able to read fault codes with Tool32, so I think I went through the installation correctly. That was very useful but I really need to see live sensor information from the engine in order to diagnose improper engine operation. I've tried installing and uninstalling the whole thing but no success.


    I kindly ask for your input on this issue.


    Thanks!

  7. #582
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    91
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325i
    Quote Originally Posted by TRF434 View Post
    Hello everyone,


    I successfully built the almost free ADS interface and installed INPA V5.0.2 on a Windows XP with a real serial port. My car has a DME 3.3.1 and INPA couldn't connect to it since it was expecting DM331K20 but the detected control unit is DME331. I searched a bit and found a DME331.prg file; I copied it to EDIABAS\ECU folder but still, INPA expects to see DM331K20. At least I'm able to read fault codes with Tool32, so I think I went through the installation correctly. That was very useful but I really need to see live sensor information from the engine in order to diagnose improper engine operation. I've tried installing and uninstalling the whole thing but no success.


    I kindly ask for your input on this issue.


    Thanks!
    There should be 2 files, you have to give them the same name as the DM331... files already there. So first rename those to something like DME331_WITHAWS

  8. #583
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,453
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    [QUOTE=klaas;30128037]... Could it be that its not in the mistreku/FAL mod or is the INPA version to low (4.4.7) or not compatible with my car?..

    Curious, what mod is this?
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio Alpinwei III auf Schwarz Deutschland-ausfhrung
    IG:
    https://www.instagram.com/iflok/

  9. #584
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    25
    My Cars
    1993 BMW 325i
    Quote Originally Posted by klaas View Post
    There should be 2 files, you have to give them the same name as the DM331... files already there. So first rename those to something like DME331_WITHAWS
    klaas,

    On the EDIABAS\Ecu folder one can find DM331K20.PRG after clean installation and I see a DME331.IPO in the EC-APPS\INPA\SGDAT folder.

    Should I copy the DME331.PRG of a previous post to the EDIABAS\Ecu folder and rename the DM331K20.PRG to DME331_WITHAWS.PRG?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by TRF434; 11-15-2018 at 10:48 AM. Reason: Typo

  10. #585
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    91
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325i
    [QUOTE=MParallel;30145842]
    Quote Originally Posted by klaas View Post
    ... Could it be that its not in the mistreku/FAL mod or is the INPA version to low (4.4.7) or not compatible with my car?..

    Curious, what mod is this?
    It is a mod made by FAL for mistreku that bypasses the EWS check for the 3.3.1 DME in version 4.4.7. This INPA version can only read DME of cars with EWS and it wont continu to the engine menu if the car has no EWS. Probably FAL ripped the code out that checks for EWS presence

    Quote Originally Posted by TRF434 View Post
    klaas,

    On the EDIABAS\Ecu folder one can find DM331K20.PRG after clean installation and I see a DME331.IPO in the EC-APPS\INPA\SGDAT folder.

    Should I copy the DME331.PRG of a previous post to the EDIABAS\Ecu folder and rename the DM331K20.PRG to DME331_WITHAWS.PRG?

    Thanks.


    See screenshot of this post made by FAL to mistreku:

    Attachment 640452
    https://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum...41/index5.html

    You should, after clean installation (i have no access to my laptop with INPA but i believe it was like this):

    - Rename existing SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG ---> SGDAT\DM331K20_WITHAWS.PRG
    EDIT:
    WRONG- Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG (rename it to this after copy)
    RIGHT Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331.PRG

    - Rename existing \Ecu\DME331.IPO ---> \Ecu\DME331_WITHAWS.IPO
    - Copy mistreku DME331.IPO --> \Ecu\DME331.IPO (same name)

    It now picks up these files instead of the AWS ones.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by klaas; 02-24-2019 at 05:06 PM.

  11. #586
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,453
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    ^^
    Thanks. Maybe that explains why I couldn’t get into the DME of a 1993 E36.
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio Alpinwei III auf Schwarz Deutschland-ausfhrung
    IG:
    https://www.instagram.com/iflok/

  12. #587
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    91
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325i
    Quote Originally Posted by MParallel View Post
    ^^
    Thanks. Maybe that explains why I couldn’t get into the DME of a 1993 E36.
    Not maybe, for sure!

    Everything not EWSII will not connect i believe (normal EWS is more simple and i think it doesnt pass some security token/is integrated with a lot of things like EWSII), see this for the years:

    https://www.turnermotorsport.com/t-faq-ews

    OBC Immobilizer, many 87-92 = the OBC and DME are linked. If the OBC code was entered (or the OBC relay failed) power to the DME was stopped (no ignition). Depending on your project and the level of functionality you plan to retain, the OBC and OBC relay may remain in the car and could lead to no-start problems if not wired correctly.

    EWS, E36 9/93-12/93 = links the door lock switch to the DME and OBC. If the door was locked with the key (or factory alarm) the car will not start without the doors unlocked with the factory key or entering the code into the OBC. In other words, you can’t smash the window and hot wire the car because the DME has killed the ignition and fuel systems.

    EWS-I, E36 1/94-12/94 = same as above but added a starter immobilization relay and transmission position switch.
    In either of the above systems the DME is passive. It only receives signals from sensors and modules. So the DME is not as tied into the body electronics as much as EWS-II.

    EWS-II, E36 1/95-8/96 = similar to the above but with an electronic key, EWS module (“brain”), and the DME all linked together. The same door lock logic remains. All systems for starting the engine are run through the EWS module (starter relay, starter power, fuel, ignition). The key sends a signal to the EWS module and the module asks for a matching signal from the DME. If the two signals don’t match the EWS module will not start the car. The EWS module also checks for OBC function and transmission park/neutral position.

    EWS-III, E36 9/96-8/99 = revised EWS-II system with added clutch position sensor and revised module and wiring.


    So i think INPA without the FAL hack works only on cars from January 1995 and on. As you confirmed normal EWS doesnt work, and i confirmed that EWSI (i have a 1994 car) doesnt work.
    Last edited by klaas; 11-16-2018 at 07:14 AM.

  13. #588
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    25
    My Cars
    1993 BMW 325i
    [QUOTE=klaas;30145951]
    Quote Originally Posted by MParallel View Post

    It is a mod made by FAL for mistreku that bypasses the EWS check for the 3.3.1 DME in version 4.4.7. This INPA version can only read DME of cars with EWS and it wont continu to the engine menu if the car has no EWS. Probably FAL ripped the code out that checks for EWS presence





    See screenshot of this post made by FAL to mistreku:

    Attachment 640452
    https://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum...41/index5.html

    You should, after clean installation (i have no access to my laptop with INPA but i believe it was like this):

    - Rename existing SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG ---> SGDAT\DM331K20_WITHAWS.PRG
    - Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG (rename it to this after copy)

    - Rename existing \Ecu\DME331.IPO ---> \Ecu\DME331_WITHAWS.IPO
    - Copy mistreku DME331.IPO --> \Ecu\DME331.IPO (same name)

    It now picks up these files instead of the AWS ones.
    Klaas,

    I did what you suggested after a clean install but now I see error SYS-0002 - ECU object not found.

    Still, I'm able to see the DME with Tool32. Here are a few details of my install:

    inpa1.JPG

    inpa2.JPG

    What could be wrong? Thanks.

  14. #589
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    25
    My Cars
    1993 BMW 325i
    [QUOTE=TRF434;30147342]
    Quote Originally Posted by klaas View Post

    Klaas,

    I did what you suggested after a clean install but now I see error SYS-0002 - ECU object not found.

    Still, I'm able to see the DME with Tool32. Here are a few details of my install:

    inpa1.JPG

    inpa2.JPG

    What could be wrong? Thanks.
    klaas,

    I got it to work by adjusting the data transfer speed from 16 to 8 bit on COM properties. Thanks a lot!

  15. #590
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    3
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325 Cabrio
    Hello,
    I copied everything. Only the pins I could not connect from "cd4053be". I do not understand, there are 16 pins .. on the pdf is at pin 1 -> 11 why? I am sorry for my English

    Is the number 11 on the Picture Pin nummer 1 and:
    14 - pin2
    10 - pin3
    15 - pin4
    9 - pin5
    4 - pin6

    12 - pin9
    13 - pin10
    2 - pin11
    1 - pin12
    5 - pin13
    3 - pin14
    ????

    Last edited by Asker06; 12-31-2018 at 08:39 AM.

  16. #591
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    3
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325 Cabrio
    I dont understand with the chip "cd4053be".
    Is number 11 - pin1? number 12 - Pin 9?
    number 5 - pin2? number 13 - Pin 10?
    number 10 - pin3? number 2 - Pin 11?
    number 15 - pin4? number 1 - pin 12?
    number 9 - pin5? number 5 - pin 13?
    number 4 - pin6? number 3 - pin 14?

  17. #592
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    *оссия
    Posts
    2
    My Cars
    Александра
    ! . , ? , .

  18. #593
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    *оссия
    Posts
    2
    My Cars
    Александра
    ! . , ? , .

  19. #594
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    12
    My Cars
    E34 530i

    Red face IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROL UNIT INPA e34 530 v8

    #Edit: Solved , I re-build that HansVMKII Board , and now it talking to my e34 530 RHD non EWS via DIS v44
    WhatsApp Image 2019-02-19 at 20.56.33.jpeg


    Need Help , sorry my english is not really good.
    with help of my friend we re-create board schematic in eagle and build it. when i plug in to the car it light up right away , connect to battery and ignition dot in INPA ( from ediabas-6.4.3-full), but it got same problem again IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROL UNIT Car is E34 530i M60B30 RHD. My installation folder is in C drive and a fresh windows xp 32bit on pentium 4. i also follow up the instruction from klaas :
    a- execute instprog.exe
    b- Installed with rectification program UK and selected ADS (not OBD), and installed just EDIABAS and INPA
    c- Set the environment variable PATH: addes C:\EDIABAS\BIN
    d- restarted laptop
    e- Executed ADSSETUP.exe and restarted again
    Ediabas.ini Files is like this , or maybe i should try using DIS ? anybody have the link to download it ?:
    Thank You
    ;-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ; Interface
    ; Description : Connected diagnosis interface
    ; Default = EDIC
    Interface =ADS




    ; Additional information (in German) :
    ; Bitte beachten: Der HW-Treiber fuer das Interface muss installiert sein!




    Here is my error picture and my stock COM1 Setting,
    Attachment 644681Attachment 644682Attachment 644684
    Last edited by boy2nd; 02-20-2019 at 04:11 AM. Reason: SOLVED Thanks!

  20. #595
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9
    My Cars
    1995 E36 328i
    I built a case for my interface, maybe its useful for other people: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3438136
    It has a 5mm hole for a power led and a D-SUB 9 cutout

  21. #596
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    91
    My Cars
    1994 BMW 325i
    [QUOTE=klaas;30145951]
    Quote Originally Posted by MParallel View Post

    It is a mod made by FAL for mistreku that bypasses the EWS check for the 3.3.1 DME in version 4.4.7. This INPA version can only read DME of cars with EWS and it wont continu to the engine menu if the car has no EWS. Probably FAL ripped the code out that checks for EWS presence





    See screenshot of this post made by FAL to mistreku:

    Attachment 640452
    https://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum...41/index5.html

    You should, after clean installation (i have no access to my laptop with INPA but i believe it was like this):

    - Rename existing SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG ---> SGDAT\DM331K20_WITHAWS.PRG
    - Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG (rename it to this after copy)

    - Rename existing \Ecu\DME331.IPO ---> \Ecu\DME331_WITHAWS.IPO
    - Copy mistreku DME331.IPO --> \Ecu\DME331.IPO (same name)

    It now picks up these files instead of the AWS ones.
    Sorry for the confusion im maybe creating.. i think this instruction might be wrong (but still try it 2nd if you cant get it to work):

    ----WRONG
    - Rename existing SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG ---> SGDAT\DM331K20_WITHAWS.PRG
    - Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG (rename it to this after copy)
    ----

    RIGHT, just do this:
    - Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331.PRG

    The DM331K20.PRG.. ive renamed it to DM331K20_WITHAWS.PRG just to make sure EDIBIAS/INPA is not using that

    - - - Updated - - -

    [QUOTE=TRF434;30147762]
    Quote Originally Posted by TRF434 View Post

    klaas,

    I got it to work by adjusting the data transfer speed from 16 to 8 bit on COM properties. Thanks a lot!
    Sorry i have not repied..

    Strange that that fixed it..

    I think i gave the wrong instructions:


    ----WRONG
    - Rename existing SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG ---> SGDAT\DM331K20_WITHAWS.PRG
    - Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331K20.PRG (rename it to this after copy)
    ----


    RIGHT, just do this:
    - Copy mistreku DME331.PRG -> SGDAT\DM331.PRG

    This was right i believe:
    - Rename existing \Ecu\DME331.IPO ---> \Ecu\DME331_WITHAWS.IPO
    - Copy mistreku DME331.IPO --> \Ecu\DME331.IPO (same name)

    The DM331K20.PRG.. ive renamed it to DM331K20_WITHAWS.PRG just to make sure EDIBIAS/INPA is not using it.
    Last edited by klaas; 02-24-2019 at 05:02 PM.

Page 24 of 24 FirstFirst ... 1415161718192021222324

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •