Thread: 2004 M3 - My First Attempt at HDR Photography

My Cars
    2004 BMW M3 SMG

2004 M3 - My First Attempt at HDR Photography

Here's a picture I shot today with a Nikon D90 I bought off a friend. I took three shots and blended them using an HDR program (High Dynamic Range). I'm pretty impressed by the results. Let me know what you think.

My Cars
    bmw E36 320
    well I'm a noob at taking pictures and I suck at PS, but i really like this shot
    Current:biiiiiiiig pyle of boxes
    Soon to come: Turbocharging, complete M package, new paint, refinished interior, cleaned enginebay, and maybe widebody

My Cars
    2004 BMW M3 SMG
    Yeah, I'm pretty new at the whole photography thing myself. I just read some of the manual and started taking pictures. Then I found a few photography websites that talked about HDR so I downloaded a program that helps you make photos like the one I posted. Thanks for the compliment.

My Cars
    '97 318ti
    Not that I advocate HDR or anything...

but the car looks a bit overdone. prolly cuz the paint is producing the widest range of tones.

it was bright out amirite?

HDR works best with the widest possible range of tonalities (meaning good, even mix of shadows, midtones, highlights). Try either a different time of day or using more exposures (more brackets) to achieve a more satisfying result.

Also...make sure you bracket with your shutter speed, not your aperture. Though it may seem counterintuitive, changing your aperture (f/ number) will not only change exposure, but depth of field as well...which creates focal problems when creating and toning an HDR (which is what the software you downloaded does. photomatix?)