Page 36 of 36 FirstFirst ... 112627282930313233343536
Results 876 to 888 of 888

Thread: NCS Dummy - Taking the expert out of NCS Expert

  1. #876
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    98 bmw 540i
    Hey mattmartindrift,
    I could use the e39 files if you have them.
    Thanks

  2. #877
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Hillsboro, Ohio
    Posts
    2
    My Cars
    2011 BMW 328i xdrive
    I have a 2011 328i xdrive. This winter, I started getting a random TPM inactive malfunction when driving and would reset it. Now for a month or so I always have the TMP malfunction/inactive. Had the sensors checked- all good. Decided it was the control module. Purchased one and quickly installed it but need to flash/program. I currently have no software or cables or anything. If someone could point me in the direction or what I need to download and buy- please do so. Thanks in advance.

  3. #878
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3
    My Cars
    BMW 730i
    Hi. I would like to have a more in depth description of the daten files than what is described in the user manual more precisely the disassembled files and what all parameters mean and their effects on the options. Just to explain I am trying to activate a possibly hidden function in the E65 MMI to let it turn on an AV source possibly the unused input on the video module referred to as "AUX IN" in all wiring diagrams etc. So I would like to know how I should begin this quest. And how the parameters are stored and how the addresses work.

    I hope you can understand what I'm looking for.

  4. #879
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,272
    My Cars
    Made in Germany
    Extremely long overdue but a new version has been released: NCS Dummy 0.6.0.8! Refer to the first post in this topic for the download link. What's new since the last release?

    0.6.0.8 (2018-08-28)

    • Fixed bug in order options. While reading the *CTV.000 file order options from the "INDIVID" categories were wrongly combined with those from the "GRUPPE" categories resulting into conflicting order options in certain modules.
    • Added ability to empty the FSW_PSW.MAN trace manipulation file from the "Export FSW/PSW" button dropdown menu.
    • The "HEX/DEC" button will now also change the numeral system of length.
    • The default command line argument is now the trace file. It is no longer necessary to provide prefix /tracefile= if you want to load a trace file. For example: NcsDummy.exe "C:\NCSEXPER\WORK\E31-EKM.C25-FSW_PSW.TRC". This makes it easier to use NCS Dummy as default application to open trace files with.
    • Exporting module functions, trace functions and differences will now include groups even when control unit data is not selected.
    • Small number of corrected translations.

    No big changes. This is mostly a maintenance release.

    It was reported that NCS Dummy would sometimes display conflicting order options. For example two parameters with different control unit data would each have order options that evaluate to true for the same conditions. This turned out to be a bug in the CVT file parser. In previous versions NCS Dummy blindly assumed all order options in the CVT files could be combined. This is not correct. CVT files may contain two distinct categories of order options which should not be combined: "GRUPPE" and "INDIVID". From now on NCS Dummy will ignore the order options in the "INDIVID" categories. This bug had no effect on the output of files generated by NCS Dummy but some of you may have been puzzled by weird order option combinations.

    The "Export FSW/PSW" button dropdown menu received a new entry to quickly empty the FSW_PSW.MAN trace manipulation file.

    The "HEX/DEC" button will now not only change the numeral system of data and mask but also length. Note that the address stays hexadecimal at all times.

    In NCS Dummy 0.6.0.3 command line argument /tracefile= was introduced to load a trace file at launch. This argument did not play well with the "Open With..." feature of Windows which expects the file name to be the default argument. Therefore /tracefile= was made redundant. NCS Dummy will now (try to) interpret the default command line argument as a trace file. If you want to make NCS Dummy the default application for *.TRC trace files, right click any trace file and choose "Open with". Depending on the Windows version you may have to follow up with "Choose another app", "More apps" and "Look for another app on this pc". Finally locate and select the NCS Dummy executable (NcsDummy.exe). Please note that to get the most out of opening trace files from the command line, you should name your files to a CHASSIS-MODULE-FILENAME.TRC structure so NCS Dummy can recognize chassis and module. For example: E31-EKM.C25-FSW_PSW.TRC.

    While exporting module functions, trace functions and differences to text files NCS Dummy would include group titles only when "Include Control Unit Data" was checked. From now on the group titles are always included.

  5. #880
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,272
    My Cars
    Made in Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
    I would like to have a more in depth description of the daten files than what is described in the user manual more precisely the disassembled files and what all parameters mean and their effects on the options. Just to explain I am trying to activate a possibly hidden function in the E65 MMI to let it turn on an AV source possibly the unused input on the video module referred to as "AUX IN" in all wiring diagrams etc. So I would like to know how I should begin this quest. And how the parameters are stored and how the addresses work.
    I'm really sorry but I do not have such documentation and writing it would be very time-consuming. Anyway, if you do not have any idea of whether and where the functionality is (address(es)), sorry, no amount of documentation is going to help you. If you have strong suspicion that the functionality can be found at a certain address or address range, write it down and we'll try to guide you through the changes required to the DATEN files in order to manipulate the data at these addresses.

  6. #881
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,385
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    Have you see my suggestions in my post on the previous page?

    https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...2#post30041952

    They are of course just that, suggestions. Was wondering what you think about them.
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung

  7. #882
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,272
    My Cars
    Made in Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by MParallel View Post
    Have you see my suggestions in my post on the previous page?
    They are of course just that, suggestions. Was wondering what you think about them.
    I did see your post but not until a month later or so because - once again - I did not get a topic reply notification... Sorry about that.

    would it be possible to change the "Length:" value in the Address line from Hex to Dec, when using the Hex/Dex switchover button? So the length shown under "Data:" matches the number of the Length in the "Address" line?
    This is now working as such in NCS Dummy 0.6.0.8!

    Have another suggestion: when doing a search, for example "remote" in say a GM5.Cxx module. There are multiple parameter/functions that contain this word. By using "Find next" it steps to the next entry. How about only showing the matching parameters/functions in the main screen? (or in a new tab)
    I'm afraid that is not possible due to the way I've set up the data structures and search functionality. It would require a considerable rewrite to achieve this.

    But the current search functionality is quite powerful so you should be able to find the desired functions or parameters quickly.

    For smaller screens, there is a /smalldisplay command line parameter to make the bottom portion a few lines less.
    It would be handy to have a screen showing only the main screen (functions+parameters + the function/address/parameter/data/options screen)
    This could be on a 4th tab. This way you could switch between these 2 views, without messing with the original one.
    That's more or less what it was like in version 0.5.* but many people didn't like switching between the tabs all the time. Putting it all on the main screen was a frequent request.

    Maybe I can make something like a full screen mode? Pressing a button / function key maximizes the graphical trace editor to use all available space on the Modules and Traces tab (covering the chassis/modules selection, buttons and log). The disadvantage is that you'd need to hit the button / function key each time you want to export, reload the trace file or change the chassis and module. Would that work for you?

  8. #883
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,385
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    Quote Originally Posted by revtor View Post
    I did see your post but not until a month later or so because - once again - I did not get a topic reply notification... Sorry about that.


    This is now working as such in NCS Dummy 0.6.0.8!


    I'm afraid that is not possible due to the way I've set up the data structures and search functionality. It would require a considerable rewrite to achieve this.

    But the current search functionality is quite powerful so you should be able to find the desired functions or parameters quickly.


    That's more or less what it was like in version 0.5.* but many people didn't like switching between the tabs all the time. Putting it all on the main screen was a frequent request.

    Maybe I can make something like a full screen mode? Pressing a button / function key maximizes the graphical trace editor to use all available space on the Modules and Traces tab (covering the chassis/modules selection, buttons and log). The disadvantage is that you'd need to hit the button / function key each time you want to export, reload the trace file or change the chassis and module. Would that work for you?
    Ha I did read the updates, but didn't even realize that was what I suggested.

    Search works fine as is. Was just a thought to make it even more easy.

    Say you want to code M Track mode for E46 M3. You open the MK60 DSC module file, search for "M Track" in the order options, hit search and you get all parameters you need to edit without sifting to many parameters. Some modules really have many many line. But yes, pressing 'next' also does the job. It's more nice to have than needed.

    Full screen would be an excellent option. And everyone can choose whether or not to use it. Or even make the different portions of the screen dragable to set the height of each section individually
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung

  9. #884
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    42
    My Cars
    2004 BMW 525I
    I was having a hard time understanding all of this stuff until I came across this post, not only did it give me a much better idea of what everything was, where it needs to be, an what it is used for it it also helped me figure out the exact steps I need to take along with the information I need to do some simple coding to my car without having to worry about messing anything up not really having any clue as to what I am doing. due to reading this post tonight tomorrow I will be hooking the car up and coding in at least the digital speedo and hopefully some more but we will see how that goes, also does anyone know if all e60s have the ability to code in folding mirrors or is it only certain years? this is probably way off topic but using the vin decoder an option that popped up on my car was telematics prep, does anyone know exactly what that means or where I can find that information for myself?

  10. #885
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Prague, Czech Republic
    Posts
    5
    My Cars
    635CSi, 850i
    Hi, I am trying to change miles to km i 99 Z3M - I can change country code and all other codes, but no luck with miles/km even if NCS dummy generates value WEGSTRECKE_EINHEIT
    km to FSW_PSW.MAN

    Can you help?
    BMW collector
    e9 3.0CSi, e10 1602, e12 525, e21 320iTurbo, e23 745i, e24 628CSiTurbo, e24 635CSiTwinTurbo, e30 336iTurbo, e31 850i, Z3M USA, Z3M Euro, e36 318iS, X3 3.0d, e65 745i
    r100, r1200r LC
    http://bmw.zpevak.net

  11. #886
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    02 E39, 08 E70
    Hopefully not a stupid question and I apologize for not reading all 35 pages but a question. Do you code with NCS Dummy, or is it a translator of sorts for NCSExpert and that's what is used to actually code?

  12. #887
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,385
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    Quote Originally Posted by cvgtpc1 View Post
    Hopefully not a stupid question and I apologize for not reading all 35 pages but a question. Do you code with NCS Dummy, or is it a translator of sorts for NCSExpert and that's what is used to actually code?
    You only needed to read the topic title and first sentence of the intro of post 1 to know the answer. It's a giveaway.

    "NCS Dummy - Taking the expert out of NCS Expert

    NCS Dummy makes working with NCS Expert a lot easier..."





    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung

  13. #888
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    -02 316 Touring
    First of all thank you everyone for tons of information that is available here. I am about to code my E87 for the first time and have a question on ECU software version.

    When I pick the ECU I want to read, CIC in this case, NCS Expert shows the CBD name as CIC.C08 where I think the C08 is the version. Once the trace file is created and I open it in NCS Dummy it actually matches CIC.C16 perfectly.

    So I make my changes into the FSW_PSW.MAN file using the CIC.C16 module.

    But when I want to write the file modified file back to the ECU, do I need to worry about NCS Expert showing CIC.C08? Does it try to compile the output into C08 level and then it would not match with what version CIC has if it really is C16?

    I found from the net one video where the guy created the FSW_PSW.TRC file by not using the execute codierdaten_lesen but rather clicked Read ECU. This Read ECU function actually changed the NCS Expert to show the CBD Name correctly. And he uploaded the FSW_PSW.MAN file using that version as well.

    Can you provide me any insight if I need to worry about it I write using CIC.C08 or CIC.C16?

    Thanks for helping!

    -p
    Last edited by phuksi; Today at 08:17 AM.

Page 36 of 36 FirstFirst ... 112627282930313233343536

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •