Page 37 of 37 FirstFirst ... 122728293031323334353637
Results 901 to 914 of 914

Thread: NCS Dummy - Taking the expert out of NCS Expert

  1. #901
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,477
    My Cars
    2005 M3 & 2004 330i
    That's normal. For some reason the E39 folder comes with the files for a lot modules the E39 never got (such as the MK60), and they essentially have junk data.

  2. #902
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,416
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    Quote Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
    That's normal. For some reason the E39 folder comes with the files for a lot modules the E39 never got (such as the MK60), and they essentially have junk data.
    Thanks, that explains every. I was already surprised by the many listed models, that even have a different chassis model in their name.
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung
    IG:
    https://www.instagram.com/iflok/

  3. #903
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    363
    My Cars
    2000 328Ci AW

    NCS Dummy - Taking the expert out of NCS Expert

    Greetings to all

    Is is possible to add a new function line to a module file and have it work properly?

    I am looking to add line: CAN_RDC aktiv (found in KMB_E46.C08 to file KMB_E46.C03.

    I also want to add line: REIFENDRUCKWARNSYSTEM aktiv (found in MK60) to my cars MK20E_I.C03 file.

    This is in attempt to get the TPMS retrofit (http://www.zhpmafia.com/forums/showt...e-doityourself) fully functional as i have coded the other three lines needed to the KMB (as per the zhpmafia instructions) and now need the two lines listed above to see if this works. Upon initial ignition start up the icon turns red and then back to yellow but stays on all the time.

    Regards,
    Mark



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by se93; 01-10-2019 at 11:35 AM.

  4. #904
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,416
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    You can add new parameters(values) to existing functions, but you can't just add new functions to a module and have it work.

    In that case I would know many functions offered in the GM5 module that I would like to add to the GM4 module. If only it was that easy.
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung
    IG:
    https://www.instagram.com/iflok/

  5. #905
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Posts
    36
    My Cars
    M10
    Revtor, please add translation. In Module MRS5CD.C22 AGKL_1 / AGKR_1 = belt tensioner force limiter, left/right.

  6. #906
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    11
    My Cars
    E38 740iA '00
    revtor, man, just want to say great thanks to you for this excellent soft =)
    E38 740iAL '00
    I sold my soul to speed...

  7. #907
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    2006 325xiT
    Looking for some pointers for decompiling and adding functions and parameters.

    I'm looking at the KMBI_PL2.C09 from E89 and KMBI_E70.C03 from E70.
    I am hoping to add to E89 the Check Control screen that shows SLI (speed limit), as my radio (hu_nbt2) is capable of sending speed limit information that is stored in the map, but only to an E70 cluster.

    I've tried exporting and also decompiling the two module files. I see similarities in some sections that makes me think/hope that I may be able to add the function definitions from one to the other. Example:
    E70:
    CC_BLINKFREQUENZ_SCHNELL 00300003 (01) FF CHECK CONTROL FAST FLASHING FREQUENCY [FREQUENCY_HZ=10/DATA]
    RDC_VERBAUT 00300004 (01) 01 TIRE PRESSURE CONTROL (RDC) INSTALLED
    BC_QMVH_ENABLE 00300004 (01) 02
    BC_SLI_ENABLE 00300004 (01) 04
    BC_LIMIT_ENABLE 00300005 (01) 01 ON-BOARD COMPUTER (OBC) SPEED LIMIT ENABLED
    E89:
    CC_BLINKFREQUENZ_SCHNELL 00300003 (01) FF CHECK CONTROL FAST FLASHING FREQUENCY [FREQUENCY_HZ=10/DATA]
    RDC_VERBAUT 00300004 (01) 01 TIRE PRESSURE CONTROL (RDC) INSTALLED
    BC_LIMIT_ENABLE 00300005 (01) 01 ON-BOARD COMPUTER (OBC) SPEED LIMIT ENABLED



    There are other sections that don't line up at all, though, and I need to add two function definitions from there too.
    I think I need to look at the hex code of the program file that is referenced by these parameters to see where in the E89 program the matching code is.

    Are the address numbers (0x00300004) hex addresses into the program file? Which is to say, could I look at 0x00300004 in the prg and find the code being referenced by these parameters?

  8. #908
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,300
    My Cars
    Made in Germany
    vilord: KMBI_PL2.C09 and KMBI_E70.C03 are indeed strikingly similar suggesting their hardware is pretty much identical. Whether you'll be able to enable the feature on the E89 depends entirely on the similarity of the software. If the speed limit feature is not in the software, no disassembly/assembly will get it to work. It's worth a try of course...

    Assuming the three SLI functions are the only ones controlling the feature (I don't know for sure), all you have to do is copy them to the disassembled KMBI_PL2.C09 file. You will have to change/add the hexadecimal identifiers as the E70 and E89 do not share the same SWTFSWxx.DAT (function keywords) and SWTPSWxx.DAT (parameter keyword) files. For example (excerpt from disassembled KMBI_E70.C03):

    PARZUWEISUNG_FSW : {00003000} 00000004 0001 1BDB {b} (04) {h} {} // BC_SLI_ENABLE
    PARZUWEISUNG_PSW1 : 0008 (00) // nicht_aktiv
    PARZUWEISUNG_PSW1 : 0007 (01) // aktiv


    0x1BDB translates to "BC_SLI_ENABLE" in the E70 SWTFSW11.DAT but "T_DEPRESSURE_DIFF_E89" for the E89 SWTFSW03.DAT. Similar with 0x0008 translating to "nicht_aktiv" in the E70 SWTPSW11.DAT but "1.9_l/min" in the E89 SWTPSW03.DAT. So you'll have to look up the E89 equivalent hexadecimal identifiers or add new ones to the keyword file(s). The exact keyword are of no importance. You could add new ones like "BLAHBLAH" if you'd like - It's only important that you do not run into conflicts with existing keywords.

    Are the address numbers (0x00300004) hex addresses into the program file? Which is to say, could I look at 0x00300004 in the prg and find the code being referenced by these parameters?
    No. The addresses point to locations in the memory of the physical module in the vehicle. The PRG files have nothing to do with this.
    Last edited by revtor; 02-11-2019 at 06:37 AM. Reason: Update

  9. #909
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2
    My Cars
    E60
    [Adding parameter issue]

    Hello, I'm trying to add new parameter and I have an issue with this. I'm following this small tutorial, I'm using chrome and translate the whole page : https://www.drive2.ru/l/473425243860370249/
    What I want to do: add new parameter to HUD in order to change the rpm curve range (currently is set to M5 and I want to change it in order to work in my E60 525D.
    The issue is that when I select the correct module, I don't have "Add parameter"available when right click on the function, also "Update module" is disabled.

    Can somebody help me with this?

    Also, "Add new parameter is there when I select an incorrect/not matching version of the module, HUD in this case

  10. #910
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    13
    My Cars
    2008 MINI COOPER D
    You cannot load FSW/PSW trace in order to add parameters.
    Pick only correct module, and without browse/load FSW/PSW you should be able to add parameters.
    Last edited by clawpt; 02-11-2019 at 06:29 AM.

  11. #911
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2
    My Cars
    E60
    Quote Originally Posted by clawpt View Post
    You cannot load FSW/PSW trace in order to add parameters.
    Pick only correct module, and without browse/load FSW/PSW you should be able to add parameters.
    And then Update the module ?

  12. #912
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    13
    My Cars
    2008 MINI COOPER D
    Yes.
    After that, load fsw and select the parameter tou just added.

    Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

  13. #913
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,416
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    Quote Originally Posted by revtor View Post
    vilord: KMBI_PL2.C09 and KMBI_E70.C03 are indeed strikingly similar suggesting their hardware is pretty much identical. Whether you'll be able to enable the feature on the E89 depends entirely on the similarity of the software...
    Am I reading this correctly that it is (theoretically) possible to add functions from module A and make it work in module B? For example as I mentioned, GM5 functions, in GM4?


    Suggestion: a Search button on the main screen. (for tablet use). Double pressing inside the search box calls up a virtual keyboard, and I can start typing, but to activate the search box, I have to press the virtual keyboard, then CTRL+F on it to pop-up the search screen. A dedicated button would be a nice feature.

    A step further would be a permanent searchbox on the main screen, right of te Chassis/Module section. Something like:


    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung
    IG:
    https://www.instagram.com/iflok/

  14. #914
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,300
    My Cars
    Made in Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by MParallel View Post
    Am I reading this correctly that it is (theoretically) possible to add functions from module A and make it work in module B? For example as I mentioned, GM5 functions, in GM4?
    In most cases it's safe to say, no, that is not possible. However, sometimes you can get lucky when a very similar module (like a different coding index) supports the feature and your own module matches most of its memory mapping. This may indicate both modules share the same or very similar hardware and perhaps even software (firmware). If your module has a small gap in the addressing or an unoccupied function at the address where the feature is in the other module, there is a tiny chance that your own module supports it too.

    There seems to be a lot of confusion about what exactly NCS Expert does: It does not and cannot change the software (firmware) in the physical modules of your vehicle. That's the territory of WinKFP (if the module can even be flashed). What NCS Expert does is making changes to the module's configuration - similar to what editing an *.ini configuration file with Notepad does for a computer program. If the module (computer program) does not support a certain feature, no meddling around with the configuration will ever change that...

    Suggestion: a Search button on the main screen. (for tablet use).
    Already there since version 0.6.0.0: The magnifying glass right above the HEX/DEC button.

Page 37 of 37 FirstFirst ... 122728293031323334353637

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •