Thread: How to setup EasyDis v44(per randomy)with Ediabas/INPA interface +USB-Serial adapter?

My Cars
    E46 M3 JB 6spd stick

How to setup EasyDis v44(per randomy)with Ediabas/INPA interface +USB-Serial adapter?

A little about my setup first for those interested as I just picked up my interface 2 days ago and started instalilng these programs as of yesterday.
    Using Ediabas/INPA eBay interface such as the one below

2002 E46 M3 s54 manual coupe
    DualCore x64 bit 2ghz pentium laptop with 4gigs of ram on Vista 64-bit OS.
    Using London Drugs Usb-to-Serial Adapter (us-tbl180) (only modification made was com1 in addition to supplied 64bit driver)
    Installed EasyDIS v44 (as per Randomys instructions, except used "VMware Workstation 6 5 1 Build 126130 Fina" instead so the steps were a little bit different.

Installation was Successful of EasyDIS I think, I was an amateur and thought I could make DIS work without inpa/ediabas but with my ediabas/inpa interface. I tried connecting to the car right away without adjusting any values and thought by default everything was set and when I hooked up to my car I ran into the below error when trying to diagnosis.

Diagnosis bus error
    ------------------
    Communication between operating unit
    and diagnostic head is impaired
    fault number: 200.159

Checked Administration > Interface detection and noticed nothing was set. I then did some digging around in the forums again and noticed I need to install Ediabas / Inpa first to use Ediabas server as an interpreter between dis and the car.