Harrison Motorsports

Thread: Leaking oil pan gasket, costs to replace, difficult DIY?

My Cars
    85 e30 98 M3/4 00 528iT

Leaking oil pan gasket, costs to replace, difficult DIY?

I believe my oil pan gasket is now leaking from the rear of the pan. It is worst when I am parked on sloping downward hill and it leaks a lot. There is also oil all over the bottom of the motor, transmission etc. I was wondering how much it typically costs to replace at a reputable shop. Also if it is difficult job to DIY.

Maybe someone can come help me for some $$ and some beer? I would like to get it done in one day and the only real time is on the weekends unfortunately because I work full time during the week.

Thanks for any incite or advice you may have.

-Thomas

My Cars
    1995 325i
    I've never done one before, but I am pretty sure you have to drop the front subframe to do this job. I'd say that one day is pretty ambitious. Good luck!

My Cars
    85 e30 98 M3/4 00 528iT
    Quote Originally Posted by espguitarist View Post
    I've never done one before, but I am pretty sure you have to drop the front subframe to do this job. I'd say that one day is pretty ambitious. Good luck!

Well I suppose I could spread it out over 2 days, I see conflicting DIY's on the internetz about how to do it. Some say remove a lot of suspension pieces, some say not to etc. Thanks I don't think I'll be able to do it, I may lack the patience for this particular job.

My Cars
    Many Broken Ones
    Not a fun job at all. You need it done bad/cheap PM me...
    460whp/515wtq wifes MMW tuned 335i

airjose is offline Awaiting Email Verification
    My Cars
    2000 528I, 1999 MB SLK
    Hi: