Thread: E30 m3: Did i make a good purchase? Help me out !

My Cars
    The Best Car

E30 m3: Did i make a good purchase? Help me out !

Hi. I just bought my first car today. I have no mechanical knowledge, and only surfed around the web for a good deal of cars i wanted to buy, what to check for, and just general info. I was not expecting to make the purchase today, but as the price was low (in my noob opinion), I just made the purchase (impulsive...?maybe..). I was the first person to check the car out, and I would like to believe that if I hadn't bought it, I wouldn't have been able to buy it in the first place since others would have bought it (i think..?). I just wanted to let you guys know that although this is my first car, I do not intend to "thrash it" nor redline it at every stop light. I always liked the m3, and I wanted to buy a stylish daily driver that was also practical. Thus, I ended up with buying the m3; in other words, I may have some fun on weekend, but thats a secondary reason, not the primary purpose of purchasing this car. Enough talk, here are the pics and info about the car: http://bimmer.onlinewebshop.net/

How much should i have paid for this car? (everything was functional, radio, windows, even the sunroof, and the only problem i can think of was that the fan would make a bit of clanking noise which the seller said may cost $300 if i wished to fix it; also, the seller was a relative of the owner of the car, and was a mechanic). Do you think this would work as a daily driver? Would i have any problems with it? I'm not too sure of the timing chain, but he did tell me that he replaced the spark plugs, ignition wire, clutch and a bit more. (not sure about water pump either). Also, how should I maintain my car? (when & what to do as regular maintenance, what & when to look out for) What about preventing rusts? anyway to do that?

Sorry for asking so many questions but your help is very much appreciated. Thank you for reading the post !

My Cars