Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new E21 owner on the boards

My Cars
    it is a mystery

new E21 owner on the boards

hey guys, whats up

i am new to the world of the e21, i just bought the car yesterday, been loving every second of it thus far

a little story on it . . . its an '81 320i with 110k miles . . . original owner totally restored it back in '94 and the car looks brand new sitting in my driveway (pics to come by the end of the week)

anyways . . . ive a couple of things to ask for those of u on the e21 board

first off, where can i find all the best literature on the e21 . . . any great sources u guys go to for general info besides this board? also where do u guys go to find aftermarket stuff . . . like a nice set of wheels, maybe some performance mods (although i know actual gain will be minimal)

also important, i believe the car has a coolant-leak near the radiator . . . is this a widespread epidemic common to the e21 or is my case just a freak occurence . . . anyways i am going to have to go under the car and check it out tomorrow . . .

TIA for any and all advice

My Cars
    E21, E24, M3
    Welcome aboard...:
    Bavarian Auto and BMP Design for some good mods

My Cars
    it is a mystery
    blitzed, did u have any coolant leaks ever, or do u know anyone who has?

My Cars
    E21, E24, M3
    Nope never have its not really a common thing amongst e21's, do the inspection, check for cracked hoses, loose clamps, check the flange of the radiator that connects to the hoses

My Cars
    81 320i
    nah, coolant leaks aren't a common problem w/ e21's.
    it's either a loose/cracked hose......or there's a crack in the plastic radiator tanks.
    also, do u have a tube connected to the overflow port on the radiator? cuz if the coolant system exceeds the pressure the rad cap is rated at (i believe stock is 11psi.....can't remember for sure), hot coolant will come out of that overflow port (located on the filler neck, just below the rad cap).