Thread: 2001 BMW 330Ci won't start...no fuel odor

My Cars
    2001 BMW 330Ci

2001 BMW 330Ci won't start...no fuel odor

It was running fine yesterday, parked it in the garage, and this morning it would not start. Electrically things seem fine, starter motor turns over nicely, but nothing beyond that! I do not smell ant fuel / gas in trying to start it several times....

Any advice please. It has 100k miles on the clock.

If I were to guess, I think it is a fuel supply problem... Any pointers as to how I can trouble shoot or narrow down better... I am not a mechanic, but handy

Thanks in advance!

My Cars
    2001 330i and 2005 330i
    You should be able to hear a buzzing as thefuel pump energizes the system just prior to ignition; rear passenger seat area. A better guess is the in-line filter under the car. Roughly under the driver's seat area.
    Under the hood, under the driver's side plastic cover panel is the fuel rail. It's equipped with a schraeder valve fitting (like a bicycle tire). Get a friend and some rags. Open the metal cap and press the valve with a rag while your fried turns over the key. Ought to be gettcng liquid fuel at that point. If not and you can hear the pump, go for the filter. (Don't work under the car using just that scissor jack. Get a real jack and stands.)
    Johnny Murray

My Cars
    E36/7M, E39Wagon, '12 X3