Autogeek.net Car Care Products
** 10% off @ Autogeek.net - PinnacleWax.com & Wolfgangcarcare.com - Coupon Code = clubmember

Thread: Dull Spots in clear coat

My Cars
    2001 BMW 330xi

Dull Spots in clear coat

My wife recently went to clean our 2001 BMW 3 series, and she used what looks like a little too much pressure to get some grime off. On the areas that she spent some time on, there are very faint scratches and a dull area in the clear coat. Is there any way to remove those faint scratches and restore the shine to the clear coat without having to take it into a shop to be repaired?

Any info would be great! Thanks!

Would Polishing the area work? We have a cheap 120V 10" Orbital Polisher used for our boat, i think it was $40, could I use that, or would I have to go and purchase something else. I'm new to this, Thanks!
    Last edited by tjr980; 08-23-2009 at 12:24 AM.

My Cars
    2015 Subaru Outback
    Quote Originally Posted by tjr980 View Post
    My wife recently went to clean our 2001 BMW 3 series, and she used what looks like a little too much pressure to get some grime off. On the areas that she spent some time on, there are very faint scratches and a dull area in the clear coat. Is there any way to remove those faint scratches and restore the shine to the clear coat without having to take it into a shop to be repaired?

Any info would be great! Thanks!

Would Polishing the area work? We have a cheap 120V 10" Orbital Polisher used for our boat, i think it was $40, could I use that, or would I have to go and purchase something else. I'm new to this, Thanks!
    Yes you can just use your polisher. Do you have any polish? what kind?

Man I see you are in Lake Oswego. I can get it out for you. I am in Hillsboro.

PM if interested. Thomas
    Last edited by tdekany; 08-23-2009 at 02:12 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

My Cars
    1998 M3 Coupe