Thread: Just dropped 40 lbs from the rear of the m3

My Cars
    95 BMW M3.2, 99 Audi A6 Avant & 01 Nissan X-Terra

Just dropped 40 lbs from the rear of the m3

Hey guys. I just dropped 40 lbs from my m3 and would like to hear some thoughts on what I can expect. Do you think it'll make a NOTICEABLE difference while I'm autoxing? If so in what way? Acceleration? Grip? Overall handling? More Understeer? More Oversteer? Please EXPLAIN why you think the way you do. I've been racing with this custom bass box for the past 2 years, and now that I'm a little more competitive I figured I might as well prep the car the best I can... and reducing weight I felt could only help.

I've been wishing for a little more oversteer and I'm thinking that dropping the 40 lbs that was sitting right over the rear shocks might help in this dept.. maybe tooo much. What do you think? I'll find out at the next race Sunday.

Anyway I was just looking for some thoughts from the fellow enthusiasts on the pros and cons of what I just did.

Thanks for reading.
    ///Matt

Click Here to see pictures of the bass box... which incidentally maybe for sale soon
    Last edited by ChewToy; 08-08-2003 at 08:36 PM.
    He who hesitates is not only lost, but miles from the next exit.

My Cars
    '99 BMW M3
    I had a sub+box+amp in my trunk for about 3 weeks until the extra weight just got on my nerves to much and I had to remove it. When I'm autocrossing I've tried both with and without a spare tire and the car definatly feels more responsive without it. It feels a tiny bit more oversteer prone, but nothing super dramatic. If your class allows it take the spare out too, weight is the enemy.
    http://www.dtmpower.net/ppost2/data/500/205dsc_3011_copy.jpg - this host does not allow image linking
    Pictures of my car

My Cars
    F150, Suburban, M3