Thread: Just dropped 40 lbs from the rear of the m3

My Cars
    95 BMW M3.2, 99 Audi A6 Avant & 01 Nissan X-Terra

Just dropped 40 lbs from the rear of the m3

Hey guys. I just dropped 40 lbs from my m3 and would like to hear some thoughts on what I can expect. Do you think it'll make a NOTICEABLE difference while I'm autoxing? If so in what way? Acceleration? Grip? Overall handling? More Understeer? More Oversteer? Please EXPLAIN why you think the way you do. I've been racing with this custom bass box for the past 2 years, and now that I'm a little more competitive I figured I might as well prep the car the best I can... and reducing weight I felt could only help.

I've been wishing for a little more oversteer and I'm thinking that dropping the 40 lbs that was sitting right over the rear shocks might help in this dept.. maybe tooo much. What do you think? I'll find out at the next race Sunday.

Anyway I was just looking for some thoughts from the fellow enthusiasts on the pros and cons of what I just did.

Thanks for reading.
    ///Matt

Click Here to see pictures of the bass box... which incidentally maybe for sale soon
    Last edited by ChewToy; 08-08-2003 at 08:36 PM.
    He who hesitates is not only lost, but miles from the next exit.

My Cars
    don't ask
    dropping weight from the rear of the car will cause more understeer.
    -Peter

Current toy: none
    Past cars: 88 M3, 99 M3 x2, 04 M3, 91 NSX, 06 S2000, 01 911TT, 06 Exige, 00 NSX, 04 GT3

My Cars
    Please post reasons to your assumptions for those that don't know the obvious... such as myself I'm not doubting or challenging you, I just want to understand the reasoning behind everyone's views as well. Tia.

My Cars
    08 Audi A4
    It will cause more understeer because there isn't as much weight to hold the rear wheels down.

My Cars