Thread: '95 525i Intermittent Starting Issue

My Cars
    1980 320i, 1995 525i

'95 525i Intermittent Starting Issue

I'm relatively new to the E34 (experience with E30's mostly) and I'm having an intermittent starting issue that I can't figure out... I've searched this forum and others and can't find similar symptoms.

The car is a '95 525i automatic with around 144K miles. About every 3 days (approximately 10 starts) the car will not start. Everything works- lights, radio, starter cranks, etc. What I have noticed is on the instrument panel an 'S' appears where 'E' or 'M' usually are right next to the 'P' for Park. So, I know the car won't start when I see the 'S'! I get the Automatic Transmission Control See Owner's Manual message as well.

I've had the car in the shop and it is not showing any codes.

If I wait several hours (8+) it will start fine like nothing is wrong.

I've had the shift lever replaced and the symptom persists. Any ideas?

Thanks!

My Cars
    and trucks
    Do you get no activity when you turn the key? Like it won't fire or theres nothing. I'd venture a guess that the a-m tranny switch is fubar'd and the car won't start, similar to turning the key with the lever in D is what I'm thinking.
    Dave
    1995 Lincoln Towncar.
    Cartier
    I pimp your mom

My Cars
    1980 320i, 1995 525i
    The starter cranks but it just won't start. I haven't done all my homework with the fuel system yet either because the 'S' and transmission message has me thinking transmission.

I recall reading that the sunroof switch is interchangable or at least a suitable stand in? I'll try that.

My Cars
    and trucks
    Hm on my e34s I get nothing when I try to start the car in D. Having the starter crank would be like turning the key with a manual car in 1. So I'm not thinking switch now. Are you getting fuel and spark when this condition happens?

Whats the conditions when it doesn't start. Engine temp, ambient temp/moisture, recent use etc.