Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 60

Thread: OBD1 (413) Dual Tune DIY

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85202
    Posts
    1,564
    My Cars
    325i, 3/4ton Truck

    Cool OBD1 (413) Dual Tune DIY

    OBD1 (413) Dual Tune DIY

    ******EDIT:****
    This can be done with 402/403 units as well as the 27c256 shares the same pin out. if you find that the tune is jumping from chip to chip, lower the value of the resistors, as low as 2k should work

    for those who have 2 tunes they want to run on a 413 ECU here is how you do it.



    OE' is output enable, the bar across the top mean its an inverted out put (active LOW). if you have taken digital logic you will understand, for those who haven't it just means that a a binary "1/high = 0/low" and visa versa.

    so when pin 22 get a low signal this enable the 27c512 chip to enable data output.

    the 22k resistors are pull ups, so when the switch selects one chip for data enable the other goes into high impedance mode



    Last edited by Keaton; 02-19-2009 at 12:03 AM.
    Becoming a Professional OT Troll . CAN Bus Project: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QuRBQzGs-c VGT/VNT +LDA controller: http://dmn.kuulalaakeri.org/vnt-lda/

    Quote Originally Posted by [B]SilverBeam[/B]
    Dude you're the biggest asshole ever. I will never reply to your texts or call you back EVER!!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkchaser
    I'm Stupid
    Diesel > gas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Pluto
    Posts
    14,460
    My Cars
    93 325iS
    Wow that is so simple!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45,536
    My Cars
    BMWs
    Yep - switching v over to the piggyback chip

    Good work keaton

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boostville 08723
    Posts
    3,643
    My Cars
    Turbo M50 E30, 95 M3
    Nice work! A+
    85' Turbo M50 E30 | 95' M3 Nitrous, Coilovers, DJ Autos, UUC SSK


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    427
    My Cars
    e46 330i
    Black Sapphire MetallicNatural BrownSilver Cube e46 330i ZHP/6MT - Sold
    HellrotDove Grey e36///M3 - RIP
    Black Sapphire MetallicNevada BrownDark Bamboo e70 X5 xDrive4.8
    Alpine WhiteCoral RedAluminum f30 328i Sportline/6MT
    Imola RedBlackBlack Aluminum e46 330i ZHP/6MT

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    The Brick Factory
    Posts
    13,717
    My Cars
    TRM Stage 1.34
    Clever way to do it. I like the one with the socket too.
    No PMs. Email through forum please.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    ne
    Posts
    196
    My Cars
    e34
    I use this to set one rev limiter at 2,000rpm... if someone steals my car, they wont get very far, very fast =)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    5,546
    My Cars
    E36, WRX
    would read again, nice work!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,893
    My Cars
    E30 S50 Turbo
    Makes a lot more sense now then trying to explain it in person.
    Maybe it's because you were using big words with me

    Very cool stuff.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    761
    My Cars
    turbo 325i, Evo, Killer DSM
    Great info, good job man

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lawrenceville, GA!
    Posts
    10,458
    My Cars
    Many Broken Ones
    interesting...
    460whp/515wtq wifes MMW tuned 335i

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85202
    Posts
    1,564
    My Cars
    325i, 3/4ton Truck
    here is the same thing just in a different package
    www.twains.ch/Manual_eng_def.pdf
    www.twains.ch/eprom-switch_20VT.html



    Quote Originally Posted by mazur View Post
    Makes a lot more sense now then trying to explain it in person.
    Maybe it's because you were using big words with me

    Very cool stuff.
    that was a future project that used a flash based FPGA, a cypress EZ-USB micro controller, an LCD, buttons and custom software that i'm playing with/working on
    Last edited by Keaton; 02-18-2009 at 02:01 AM.
    Becoming a Professional OT Troll . CAN Bus Project: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QuRBQzGs-c VGT/VNT +LDA controller: http://dmn.kuulalaakeri.org/vnt-lda/

    Quote Originally Posted by [B]SilverBeam[/B]
    Dude you're the biggest asshole ever. I will never reply to your texts or call you back EVER!!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkchaser
    I'm Stupid
    Diesel > gas

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    PDX
    Posts
    2,069
    My Cars
    E36/5 ///M & Turbo 325
    Quote Originally Posted by Keaton View Post
    OBD1 (413) Dual Tune DIY

    for those who have 2 tunes they want to run on a 413 ECU here is how you do it.



    OE' is output enable, the bar across the top mean its an inverted out put (active LOW). if you have taken digital logic you will understand, for those who haven't it just means that a a binary "1/high = 0/low" and visa versa.

    so when pin 22 get a low signal this enable the 27c512 chip to enable data output.

    the 22k resistors are pull ups, so when the switch selects one chip for data enable the other goes into high impedance mode






    Im glad all that info help out. Didnt I tell you it was that easy. Great job.
    Make a little circuit with 4mb chip that utilizes dip switches. 4and1 tune. If you were into modding original xbox's, you know what im talking about. If you need more help hit me up in pm.
    OBD1 ECU TUNER

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85202
    Posts
    1,564
    My Cars
    325i, 3/4ton Truck
    Quote Originally Posted by dredder View Post

    Im glad all that info help out. Didnt I tell you it was that easy. Great job.
    Make a little circuit with 4mb chip that utilizes dip switches. 4and1 tune. If you were into modding original xbox's, you know what im talking about. If you need more help hit me up in pm.
    well that site really didnt help because i couldnt find any think on it, and the search function was broken. so i started doing some other stuff and was reading the datasheet, then, bang it clicked.

    as for the one chip solution, i'm working on that next. so far the only 90ns UV chips i have found are the 1MB and the 8MB, i dont have the stock chip in front of me so i can look up the speed but i think 120ns -150ns is too slow. so either 2 tunes or 16 different tunes. i think at that point a small LCD, button and micro controller would be needed

    all the other 27c020, 27c040 that i have found are OTP's . using that piggy back method and 2 27c080 i could have 32 tunes but i think that might be over kill.

    currently laying out a board to put a 2 PLCC's, resistors, and leads for the switch then next will i might try to lay out the board with a micro controller but that might need extra power supplies and and i dont know if i'll have the room for all that.
    Becoming a Professional OT Troll . CAN Bus Project: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QuRBQzGs-c VGT/VNT +LDA controller: http://dmn.kuulalaakeri.org/vnt-lda/

    Quote Originally Posted by [B]SilverBeam[/B]
    Dude you're the biggest asshole ever. I will never reply to your texts or call you back EVER!!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkchaser
    I'm Stupid
    Diesel > gas

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    quebec
    Posts
    1,398
    My Cars
    |99 Turbo M3 | 2K7 335|
    there is no problem with the switch "bouncing" effect ?
    _____________________________


  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85202
    Posts
    1,564
    My Cars
    325i, 3/4ton Truck
    Quote Originally Posted by gnarfy View Post
    there is no problem with the switch "bouncing" effect ?
    add a Schmitt trigger then no, or turn the car off flip the switch and turn the car back on.

    your other option is to pull the ECU, take it apart, swap chips, reassemble, and hook back up.
    Becoming a Professional OT Troll . CAN Bus Project: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QuRBQzGs-c VGT/VNT +LDA controller: http://dmn.kuulalaakeri.org/vnt-lda/

    Quote Originally Posted by [B]SilverBeam[/B]
    Dude you're the biggest asshole ever. I will never reply to your texts or call you back EVER!!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkchaser
    I'm Stupid
    Diesel > gas

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calgary, AB, Canada
    Posts
    75
    My Cars
    1993 325i, 2004 SRT-4
    You are amazing. Doing this to run the dinan tune every day and stock tune when spraying.

    I apologize if this is a bit off topic but I do not want to start a new thread for what could be a stupid question.

    I run wet shot nitrous, so the only tuning I need is a timing retard, and I am behind schedule on getting the MS.

    Does the stock ecm (413) only retard the timing when knock is detected, or does it also cut the fuel?

    Because I was just thinking that the knock sensor is just a microphone. If a fake knock is sent to the ecu, could be a way of temporarily retarding the timing instead of just waiting for the knock to start happening. Once again sorry if this sounds dumb......I have much to learn.
    Last edited by maximk2; 02-19-2009 at 01:02 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    PDX
    Posts
    2,069
    My Cars
    E36/5 ///M & Turbo 325
    Another option if to find a 1mb chip. Connect A16, VCC, Ground to a switch (SPDT = Single Pole Double Throw ). When the switch is flipped to ground, data is pulled 1/2 of the chip, when on VCC = the other 1/2



    You can use bigger memory size chip, You will need to manipulate the higher adresses by using dip switches. E.G on 4mb A16 to A18
    Last edited by dredder; 02-20-2009 at 02:48 PM.
    OBD1 ECU TUNER

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45,536
    My Cars
    BMWs
    Like an xbox yeaaaayuh!

    Keaton stop sharing this

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    901
    My Cars
    '97 328i
    A company called MaxHp Kit sells a couple of products that are similar to what is being done here. The first product is called Multi-board where the Epromis replaced with a small board with a larger capacity EPROM so it can hold several images and you selected the one you want by flipping dip switches.

    The second one is called Maxtronic and is basically an EPROM emulator. What's cool about this product is that you can connect to it via a usb cable and upload images on the fly and even change your tune on the fly. Both products are currently used on Porsches Motronic ECUs but the owner is willing to work with BMW owners to expand his business to BMWs.

    http://www.maxhpkit.com/

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    A-town, Bitches!
    Posts
    6,049
    My Cars
    Escortizzle
    They already exist for BMW product as well.

    www.racersmarket.net for their Multi-tune (bin switcher).

    www.moates.com ?? I think, for an Emulator that works with the 413.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    PDX
    Posts
    2,069
    My Cars
    E36/5 ///M & Turbo 325
    Quote Originally Posted by kendogg View Post
    They already exist for BMW product as well.

    www.racersmarket.net for their Multi-tune (bin switcher).

    www.moates.com ?? I think, for an Emulator that works with the 413.
    The thread goal is to provide the cheapest solution. We're not offering product here, just solutions. I dont think this is the proper place to advertise.
    OBD1 ECU TUNER

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    A-town, Bitches!
    Posts
    6,049
    My Cars
    Escortizzle
    Quote Originally Posted by dredder View Post
    The thread goal is to provide the cheapest solution. We're not offering product here, just solutions. I dont think this is the proper place to advertise.
    I'm not advertising. I'm just showing the previous poster that what he was speaking of already exists in the market.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    PDX
    Posts
    2,069
    My Cars
    E36/5 ///M & Turbo 325
    Quote Originally Posted by 5mall5nail5 View Post
    Like an xbox yeaaaayuh!
    Keaton stop sharing this
    Version 1 yeah, multi boot cant beat that.
    OBD1 ECU TUNER

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85202
    Posts
    1,564
    My Cars
    325i, 3/4ton Truck
    Quote Originally Posted by dredder View Post
    Another option if to find a 1mb chip. Connect A16, VCC, Ground to a switch (SPDT = Single Pole Double Throw ). When the switch is flipped to ground, data is pulled 1/2 of the chip, when on VCC = the other 1/2



    You can use bigger memory size chip, You will need to manipulate the higher adresses by using dip switches. E.G on 4mb A16 to A18
    i was going to show the one chip solution in another thread after i get the parts form digikey and do a write up
    IE this:
    Becoming a Professional OT Troll . CAN Bus Project: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QuRBQzGs-c VGT/VNT +LDA controller: http://dmn.kuulalaakeri.org/vnt-lda/

    Quote Originally Posted by [B]SilverBeam[/B]
    Dude you're the biggest asshole ever. I will never reply to your texts or call you back EVER!!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkchaser
    I'm Stupid
    Diesel > gas

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •