Thread: New owner saying hello

My Cars
    540i, Odyssey

New owner saying hello

Hi there,

I just bought a brand new (to me) '98 540i 6-speed. I've been wanting to get a bimmer for a while, as I wanted something fast, to make up for the bike I miss, and stylish, cause I'm shallow, and I found the right one for me, ie quick, sexy, and dirt cheap.

The major highlights are 130k miles, an almost complete lack of pixels in both displays (yeah I read about calling BMWNA etc), a passenger side wiper doesn't move (there is no resistance to free movement so a linkage to the motor must be gone, right?), airbag warning light on, broken driver seat-extension retraction button, intermittent steering wheel raising/lowering, and various paint and leather scuffs/chips (and obviously no cup holders). In other words nothing major aside from the air bags which I should fix (if what I read is correct about this meaning all bags will deploy in a crash!!).

I'm a shade tree mechanic, so I'll be asking ye for some help occasionally.

Any suggestions on how I should start with the airbag light? I took the car to an autoparts store to get the computer read and there were no codes, so that gave me no info about the airbag light. Should I remove the seats to see if the occupancy connectors are properly seated? If I fix it at this stage will the light go off or will it stay on until some sort of reset?

Thanks guys,
    Matthew

My Cars
    04 545i sport
    congrats on the car and welcome to bf.c sounds like you have some things to do right off the bat! good luck

2004 BMW 545i sport: current
    2005 Cadillac Escalade: sold
    2005 LR Range Rover: sold
    2006 Infiniti M45 sport: sold
    2001 BMW 540i sport: sold

My Cars
    00' 528i, 11' Legacy
    Congrats on the pick up.

Dont forget to read thru the sticky threads at the top of the main page... TONS of useful links, DIY's etc....
    UNDER CONSTRUCTION

- 2000 528i Sport
    -