PDA

View Full Version : Need help in selecting GT1 equipment

Heyrenzo
01-02-2008, 04:43 PM
Hello,

I am completely new to BMWs. A friend of mine would like to purchase a GT1 software as he works on BMWs. I see that the GT1 software can be used for all BMWs.

Is that the best diagnostic tool I can purchase? if yes, where is the most reliable place to purchase it, and how much should I be expected to pay?

There also seem to be the OPS alternative, for E65 platforms and higher, is that any good? What difference does it have with the GT1 equipment?

Any help, or links to documentation, is appreciated! Regards,
Laurent

UltimateM
01-08-2008, 06:22 AM
Yes the GT1 is the best available right now. You need two heads to work on all the BMW's (well I guess the ones that I've seen, up to 2008). The OPS head (its not a whole system, just the head and the connectors) if for the newer cars, it hooks up through the OBD-II port and the Optical Port (the fiber optic connection, I don't know the official name). The yellow head (the older one) is needed for all the older models. Both of the heads work with the GT-1 and the SSS (software service station).

http://www.centrallettershop.com/

If its available thats where you buy it officially, any warranty issues are handled directly by Siemens (GT1) or HP (SSS).

Rennhaus
01-09-2008, 10:27 PM
No GT1s available, they are no longer in production. They are being replaced and even dealers connot get a new GT1 right now.

bimmerboy328i
01-22-2008, 09:34 PM
No GT1s available, they are no longer in production. They are being replaced and even dealers connot get a new GT1 right now.

Yep, we are switching and all of the GT1's are going back to NA. Now from there, I don't know what will happen to them.

KALAMAZU13
02-13-2008, 10:30 AM
BMW will support GT-1 until the end of 2008

lyonsden1980
03-14-2008, 02:31 AM
Is the GT1 V44 best for coding and v39 or v52 best fot Dia?

I read someplace that the yellow head have a wireless LAN?

brew