PDA

View Full Version : Fix front paint or get a hardtop?

GhastRimsen
05-01-2013, 02:43 AM
Okay guys, I'm at an impasse. I'm a college student who's getting married in September, so not a lot of money to throw around. I got my car in January and have been slowly bringing it back to as good of condition as a can. I'm about out of my "fixing" money and I have two major things I want to do. Aparently the PO decided to drive 2 feet behind a rock truck for an hour as the entire front end: bumper, grill, hood, fenders, mirrors and windshield are all battered to hell. :( A picture is attached below, and no, that is not dirt. This picture is of my car being washed two days ago, all of those are little chips. It appears he didn't want to fix it as he clear coated over everything, so rust shouldn't be any issue (yes, many of those are all the way to the sheet metal).

Anyways, I have it quoted out to about $750 to take care of the everything but the bumper and windshield, which the bumber isn't that bad and I can get over all the little hits on the windshield, there aren't any cracks or major chips.

Well...I REALLY want a hardtop. I've never been a fan of the look of a ragtop, and my goodness seeing all of you guys with your hardtops is driving me insane. So each time I look out at my car, first I drool a little bit, after all I got my dream car :buttrock. Then I get a little pissed that my dream car has a bunch of chips in the front and a ragtop which I swore I'd never own. Which should I put my money towards?

http://imageshack.us/a/img35/5593/fronteye.png

Sean4
05-01-2013, 10:13 AM
Based on what I have seen and read around here, you won't be able to find a hardtop for anything less then $1000 if you are lucky. And then you have to get that painted as well. I would go with the front end. It will improve the look of the car a lot.

daves323ic
05-05-2013, 06:07 PM