PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy BMW 535i CPO - involved in rear impact

abforums
05-20-2012, 08:10 PM
Looking to buy a CPO 535i (from a dealer).
Carfax shows a prior accident with rear impact.
It is a CPO , but the original place where the accident happend is different (so it was not repaired by this BMW).
Can anyone comment, how rigorous the CPO process is? Would they actually verify the structural integrity prior to certifying?
Salesperson insists it was a minor damage, but when I asked for details on the original repairs, they don't have any.
Any suggestions/recommendations?
Would it be worth the risk? 2010 / 535i / 28k miles with Sport, Nav, Prem Pkg and a few other minor upgrades @ $36k.

Apparently the accident happened within the first 10 days of the first owner record (late 2009) and this has been a 1 owner car as per carfax. Only thing carfax states is "involved in a rear impact".
Any way to get more details on the actual repairs / original damage?

I am new to this forum and first time (potential) BMW Owner. So any guidace will be greatly appreciated.

White94RX
05-22-2012, 01:31 PM
It's probably going to be hard to find out just how severe it was without having some original paperwork from the repairs. It could have been some minor cosmetic damage, or could have been a severe impact requiring tail lights, deck lid, bumper, supports, etc.

bimmer_boyis
05-22-2012, 03:24 PM
Tell the dealer you would like to borrow their paint gauge(every dealer used car manager will have one). Will tell you what/where was hit. Have them put it on a lift so you can take a peek. Check tail light pockets from the inside(seen some bad weld/caulk jobs leading to leaks).

CPO's are taken pretty seriously at my dealer, but there is always room for human error.

abforums
05-23-2012, 07:12 AM
Thanks! Trying to get the records from them if they can pull. If not I will walk away...

PwrdbyM
05-24-2012, 10:33 AM