PDA

View Full Version : Please help with 60ft times...

luvdriven540i
10-07-2009, 01:05 AM
Hello all, :help

I'm new to the drag strip. My car is a stock 98 540/6 with 65k miles, minus about 120 lbs.

After nine runs, my ET ranged from my first run of 16.546 (ok, you can stop laughing now) :lol with a 60' time of 2.606.......to my last run of 14.690 with a 60' time of 2.343.

I know it's lame, but I am improving. What is a decent 60' time for that car?

The 235/45-17 General Exclaim UHP tires are spinning like crazy even with a launch of 1500 rpm's. I'm sure to go around the water, and I haven't tried a burnout yet.

Please give suggestions on better launch techniques and the best tires and size. The tires could be strictly drag tires that will be changed at the strip or a good drag street tire.

Thank you, all the best!:buttrock

(http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=General&tireModel=Exclaim+UHP)

Grimmjar
10-07-2009, 05:29 AM
do you have a LSD?
LSD or Slicks will help alot, both are perfect for the beginning.

http://www.dragtimes.com/BMW--540i-Drag-Racing.html

HKS
10-07-2009, 06:23 AM
I suggest you to get a pair of drag slicks (Mickey Thompson ET Drag, Hoosier, ..) and your 60" times go under 2.0 with no problem.

My opinion is there is no point to mess with street tires or some kind of circuit slicks.

ltw97m3
10-07-2009, 09:38 AM
contrary to popular belief about how tangible a proper run is to come by there are many factors outside the tires on your car that could have effected your outcome. drag radials and slicks take much less logistics for a pass in which you get a proper 60'. but lets evaluate your current setup. id start by dropping your air pressure in the rear tires to 25psi. and depending upon the results maybe continue to lower the psi to as far down as 17psi or so. air pressure it's self has the ability to solve the traction issue your having; be prepared the car may seems floaty and unstable on the top end of the track.