Thread: N00bie Wants to get into racing(WA), need advice!

My Cars
    2002 5spd 330i

N00bie Wants to get into racing(WA), need advice!

Hi guys, I wanted to post on here because you guys seem very knowledgeble (although awfully harsh to begginers). Basically I'm 23, been driving manual for about 6 years. I have no formal experience, but I also have no ego FYI...I dont think I am awesome or anything like that. Before I even considered getting into racing, I wanted to learn and perfect basic car control. I learned how to heel toe, counter steer, some about weight transfer....lift throttle oversteer, shifting the load to the front via braking etc....However I have absolutely zero experience in proper line taking, and tracking the car (outside of gran turismo lol).

My question is this....what should I go for first? What is a good place to start? Should i go to KART school? Autocross?? BMWCCA? Weekend track school? I'd like to think that I have enough experience to not go to the basic teenager safety course that BMWCCA offers, but then again I don't want to assume.....Anyways, any advice or help would be greately appreciated.

My Cars
    ?
    Hmmm..car control is a good place to start. I really like the Bondurant car control programs. If it were me, I'd look at budget and what you're looking to get out of that budget. Put it all down on paper and see what you come up with.

My Cars
    98 M3, 93 325is, 2011 X5
    What/where do you want to race? Formula/open-wheel cars? Spec Miata? BMW CCA Club Racing? Answering that question may, in part, help you figure out where to get started.

Based on your zero track experience, I would highly recommend some sort of school (there's a separate thread on that, I believe) first. Then get as much track time as possible. *Then* consider going racing.