Thread: For experienced drivers

My Cars
    98 1.9L 5speed, 3.73LSD

For experienced drivers

Hi all! I own a very clean 1998 Z3. It has the M44 engine. It's just a little underpowered for the car, but with a higher ratio LSD, low restriction exhaust and intake and a remap, the car is now perfect... almost! My dream car is a 1968 corvette (convertible, of course). I always have an eye open for a Z3M. Any color, any shape. But they are just too expensive for my budget.
    I have the opportunity to trade my high mileage Z3 with a low mileage 1999 E36 M3 convertible. The guy told me the suspension and the brakes needed replacement, and the top doesn't operate. I'm a good mechanic and I have access to a shop. So no big deal, unless the parts are very expensive. Oh, and the M3 is automatic...
    My question is: Has anyone did the same trade or driven both cars at some points? What is your opinion? The M3 is WAY bigger than the Z3, and has to be a lot heavier. But it has 100hp more than the Z3. How do the M3 compare to the Z3 in the twisties? A friend of mine has a Z4 with the 3.0L, and every times we go for a ride, he rather drive mine. My Z3 is a blast to drive in back country roads. If I go for a trade, I wont be able to enjoy the M3 on the small twisted roads until all that snow melts (4-5 months wait), and it will be too late to change idea... What do you think?
    The Z3 is perfect for toying around. Once you pryed yourself in, you get to sit on the hardest seats ever. After a few hours of this, you need to stop and go for a walk, as opposed to the confort i got to feel in the M3...
    Thanks!

My Cars
    03 525it/5, 1967 GTO