My Cars
    2x E38 740iL/04 4.8 E53

EHC2 E53 Question

Hello. I have a 2004 4.8iS and it recently came up with an SLS inactive warning. The dealership said I need a new EHC Module. My question is I now have the ability to plug the truck up myself and read the errors. I do have an error in the EHC module .... It reads 1 error 50 CAN Bus error frequency 3 times. But this doesn't tell me much. I was using INPA do I need to use DIS to figure out what's really going on? The voltage reading for all 4 sensors were very similar however not exactly the same. I assume this is normal?

My real question here is which program should I use to diagnose my problem? And a little instruction as far as how to check the truck? I am new to diagnosing everything on my own and have had great success doing so on my E38. Just need some guidance.

Can I reset the EHC2? Do I really need to buy a new one and program it to the car?
    2001 E38 (Stroker Motor) / 2004 X5 4.8iS / 2006 760Li V12

My Cars
    2x E38 740iL/04 4.8 E53
    Since no one replied I did my own research and found the answers I needed. The SLS warning was because of the EHCII module being bad. I replaced and encoded it and the warning is gone now. Pretty easy to replace and I have the diagnostic software to fix so was entirely a DIY for me. Used DIS to diagnose the problem and went from there. If anyone is looking for pointers I pretty much narrowed it all the way down myself and wouldn't mind sharing.
    2001 E38 (Stroker Motor) / 2004 X5 4.8iS / 2006 760Li V12

My Cars
    850i, Z3 2.3, X5 4.8is
    6 year old thread so maybe you’re not around here anymore, but I am having the exact same code and there is very little on it. I’d love to hear how you went about troubleshooting.

I have a 2004 4.8is

Cheers!

My Cars
    z3