Thread: 335i N54 opinions

My Cars
    335i Coupe

335i N54 opinions

Hey there I'm new to the car scene because I'm a truck person (love my Toyotas). So I've always liked BMW cars and owned a couple 73 2002s in the past and now bought a 2009 335i Coupe. Very nice machine with low kms, sport pack, executive blah blah, pretty pimp with 83,000 kms and 6 speed auto. It was a CPO from a dealership and I did opt for the third party extended warranty, due to what I've read about their reliability and I think it was the smart choice. My trucks never left me high and dry so maybe I've been spoiled with Toyota reliability, but I'm curious to hear if these N54s are as spotty as everyone seems to make them out to be. Haven't had more than 45 mins of seat time because the weather here is toilet and it's going to be my fair weather machine, this said, I really like it so far. Please share experiences as I'm a research type of person.

My Cars
    '09 335i, '88 M6, '00 M5
    One of the biggest issues has been the high-pressure fuel pump, but this is now under extended warranty by BMW once they acknowledged how unreliable the early ones were. Newer (replacement) versions seem to be fine.

I'd advise combing through the E90 sub forum to learn more about this and other issues such as the need for walnut blasting of intake valve area after xx,xxx miles, etc.

There's even an N54-centric forum, if you want to focus on engine performance (incl. mods): N54tech.com
    "Sabine": '88 M6 Royalblau/Silber
    SLS delete, Wizard Cooling radiator, BavAuto Strut bar, M-Technik steering wheel, Conforti chip, Bilstein B8s / H&R lowering springs

"Greta": '00 M5 Titansilber / Grau-Schwartz
    Euro Hellas, e-Light control module, muffler delete

"Cosette": '09 335i Titansilber / Schwartz
    Just trying to keep the stock N54 running without throwing codes.

My Cars
    E39 M5; Exige S CR
    They always felt under powered to me but I have never been in one that was tuned.

My Cars
    2010 335i