Thread: First post on this forum...Would appreciate some advice and/or tips

My Cars
    1993 Honda Civic

First post on this forum...Would appreciate some advice and/or tips

So here's my story:

I am a college student and full-time worker. I've owned Hondas and Acuras my whole driving life, and really would love to make the switch. I'm 32, and have had several rough years in my life both financially and emotionally. I won't go into much detail, but the bottom line is this - I've decided that I want to own either an E36 or E46 by the end of this new year, and transferred $1000 into a specific savings account to fund this purchase. I know that's not a lot of money, but for me, its a start. I would love to get some help as far as what to look for when purchasing, price range, mileage recommendations, red flags, etc. Also, what are the pros and cons of each generation E46 and E36? I am the typical BMW newb, but am atypical in the sense that I have a goal, and have set guidelines and a plan to achieve that goal. My hope is to purchase one in full for around $8500-$10000. I am in love with the style, performance and history of these cars. The time frame may be reduced if I decide to get a loan from my credit union, but I would like to save and purchase it all on my own.
    Anyway, that's my introductory thread in a nutshell. I look forward to responses and obtaining as much knowledge and info that I can.

Thanks!

My Cars
    2003 330ci
    if you can't afford to put a grand or so, maybe 2500, per year into maintaining things and fixing things, then you should probably stay clear.... and thats only if you do the work yourself. Double that amount if you don't do the work. Will you have the time? will you have the expendable income?

google "e46 pre purchase checklist", you will find plenty of information on things to look for before you buy, and you will get an idea of what you are in for.