Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1991 M Technic E30 325i: Worth buying?

My Cars
    02 M5, '14 328D, '91 325

1991 M-Technic 325i restoration

Hi All,

It has been a while since I've posted on Bimmerforums, but I've been using this site since 2005 when I bought my first BMW, a '95 M3 and you guys have always been very informative and helpful.

Anyhow, I'll cut right to the chase. My coworker at our dealer has a 1991 BMW E30 M Technic 325i Convertible in BrilliantRot: cloth hounds-tooth interior with automatic transmission. It has 250,000 miles, although the head was resurfaced approximately two years ago by one of our master techs, Leonard H., a BMW tech over 30 years and soon poised for retirement. I drove it and it's smooth. It turns over with no hesitation, idles smooth, and the automatic transmission shifts smoothly under acceleration. It's currently registered and passed CA smog two weeks ago.

The cosmetics of the vehicle however are a different story. The original paint is heavily faded/oxidized (really could use a new paint job) and there are some tears in the cloth interior. Low beams are also inop; tech said it may need new wiring as its not the dash switch. Regardless, the car is a straight body clean title vehicle original CA car all in one piece with a working E30 odometer.

My question is, what is the feasibility of flipping this car for say $2500-$3,500 if I were able to pick this car up for $800 cash? Unfortunately there is such little information on the web about the "M technic" E30 BMW's, that it's hard to pinpoint the value/desirability of this car. But from what I've researched, it sounds like less than 500 of these BMW's were imported to North America. I wish I had some pictures I could provide, although I guess I did not think ahead enough when I went to drive his car. (He leaves it sitting at home in his garage and has a 90's Benz C280 as his DD.

Here are a few links on the web with regard to the car I'm referring to: