Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Aerodynamic parts lesson, including nomenclature.

My Cars
    2000 M-Coupe, 1994 SE-R

Aerodynamic parts lesson, including nomenclature.

Seems we need to brush up on our aerodynamic parts, what they accomplish, and by extension what they are called. And maybe more importantly what they are not called. Keep in mind many automotive aerodynamic devices carry over from airplane technologies and going back to brush up on your airplane knowledge might be a good idea. I've actually been meaning to write this thread for a few years, so I guess now is the time.

I am not an expert, but I can at least get us started and we can have a good old chat about it.

Before we start, here are some related links:

A thread were I started a discussion about front spoilers and if there are any in existence (one car so far has them): http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...707814-Spoiler
    Advertised rear diffuser is actually not a diffuser at all: http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...hread-amp-List

I strongly suggest you read the topics in the order they appear in this thread (as they build on each other), but if you want to jump to a section here they are in alphabetical order:
    Last edited by BenFenner; 04-02-2015 at 10:17 AM.

My Cars
    99 M Coupe
    "aerodramatic" should be included as a descriptor in this conversation
    '99 M Coupe Supercharged autox/track toy* available for purchase, 2016 MX5 Miata daily driven, '11 Mazdaspeed 3 - dog hauler

*///Monster Coupe: FH/Race USA custom widebody front, 18 X 10.5 et 27 Apex EC-7 wheels 285/30/18
    Active Autowerks Super Charger C30-94- 300 whp, SnowPerf Water Alcohol injection, AA Track Pipe, Supertrapp Exhaust, Ground Control double adj struts, Adj RD sway bars front and rear, Quaife 3.64 Torque Biasing LSD, Recaro Pole Position seats, HMS Harness Bar & Schroth 5pt & 4 pt Harness

My Cars
    2000 M-Coupe, 1994 SE-R
    Air dams