Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help removing oil pan

My Cars
    2000 BMW Z3

Help removing oil pan

Hi everyone,

It appears that pretty soon I will need to replace the oil pan gasket in my 2000 Z3 (2.3L). I have never done this before on this car and I was trying to read to understand the process to get it done. From the little information I have found it sounds as this would be somewhat of a complicated process... it sounds like you need to remove a lot of the front suspension components, disconnect power steering line, gas lines?

Does any one have or know where to find a good refernece on the process to remove the oil pan? I am very confused from the information I have read so far and dont seem to find any good materia with pictures that would be very helpful.

Thank you

My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    It's probably a lot like the E36 process (search for E36 DIY's). I did that on my E36 and it wasn't a fun job at all. I generally enjoy working on my cars, but this one I didn't enjoy at all.

I was trying to do it without taking off the suspension with the carrier, but ended up doing it anyways, after struggling for hours to get it to clear correctly.

You will have to take off the X-Brace first, then disconnect the struts from the top, and the four large bolts (or was it nuts?) holding the suspension carrier. Then you disconnect the steering shaft at the joint to be able to lower the suspension carrier with the steering rack. Control arm bushings will possibly have to be removed. You may have to disconnect some power steering tubing, but that's not hard at all. It's up to you if you want to let it hang, or remove it completely. To remove it completely will take much more work as you will have to disconnect brake lines, or calipers etc.

It makes it easier if you can raise the engine a little (loosen engine mounts) and raise it about an inch. While you're there, you may as well replace engine mounts if they're bad.